Preparing for the Half Marathon


On August 28th 2010 I am going to be running the Rochester Half Marathon in Rochester, MN. This will be my 6th half marathon as I have run 5 Gary Bjorkland Half Marathons during the Grandmas Marathon weekend in Duluth MN.

This race is particularly exciting for me because I haven’t run a half marathon since 2008 and I didn’t run that one very well due to a stint with plantar fasciitis. This year I’ve been training well but have been fighting a more than sore achilles tendon. I’ve gotten it to the point now where the tendon is only sore for the first mile of my run and it doesn’t seem to affect my speed.

My goal this year is to run the half in 1 hour 45 minutes. I don’t know how realistic this goal is as I’ve never run this course before and it sounds a little more difficult than the Duluth course for hills. I’m pretty positive though that I can make this goal as it has been my goal for several years now. If I make this goal it will be my best lifetime speed ever. Currently my best time is 1:48:17 back in 2006.

I haven’t done a lot differently in my training than in years past but I have gone back to running no matter the weather. That includes temparatures. Training has gone well and I just ran a 10 mile training course in the best time I think I’ve done a 10 mile in quite a while at 1 hour 16 minutes. That is an average mile of 7 minutes 36 seconds.

I hope to see lots of people at the Rochester Half Marathon in Rochester, MN on August 28th. It should be a fun time.

Leave a Reply

