Back on Track!


A personal journal isn’t very good if you never post anything to it now is it?

Yes, that is me in a nutshell in regard to this blog. Well, in my attempt now to lose weight and possibly even figure out why I have weight issues, I’ve decided this journal needs to be used finally.

Back on Track

What is it that has brought me back to the weight loss world?

The answer?

I’ve been gaining weight and my personal well being had been taking a bit of a turn for the worse. Certainly I wasn’t having any true medical health issues, but I had noticed that I was drinking from 2-4 liters of diet soda everyday and eating everything in my sight (except for vegetables).

I went from having a goal of staying under 200, to simply hoping I could stay around 210.

On December 3rd 2010 my sister-in-law challenged the family to lose weight. It was an interesting proposition. All that was needed was a $50 buy in and I just had to lose 5% of my starting body weight. Easy enough right?

WRONG!

Wrong because I didn’t take it seriously. I lost weight the first week and then started gaining weight again. It took accepting a new job for me to finally realize that my life needed to change. My diet needed to change and my habits needed to change.

I started a strict diet and workout routine the week of February 11th, 2011. Since then I have lost about 8 pounds and have run 36 miles thus far. I have developed my own version of the Weight Watchers diet plan which seems to be working quite well for me. I am losing roughly 1-2 pounds per week.

My goal is to lose my 10% of my body weight as the 2nd phase of the family weight loss challenge requires and then maintain my body weight within 3% of that goal.

We’ll see how things go. As I’ve mentioned before, this blog is meant primarily for myself as a journal but if you are reading this then you obviously aren’t me and I hope you are wishing me well.

Leave a Reply

