Knots are Not Fun!


Went for a 7 mile run tonight and had the most wonderfully horrible run I’ve had in quite some time. The first 2.5 miles went great, but then it all went down hill. Between miles 2.5 and 3.0 I suddenly, and when I say suddenly I really mean suddenly, started getting the most excruciating pain in my left shoulder blade near the center of my back.

I wasn’t surprised as to the location of the pain becuase over the weekend I noticed on Saturday a horrible pain in the same place, but I had gone running yesterday as well and didn’t have this same issue.

What was the pain like?

Aside from being excruciating, the pain was like someone was pushing a stick or their thumb into the knot in my back. As the pain increased, my chest continued getting tighter, which then caused me to become short of breath and my chest began to hurt. This went on for about 1.5 miles or more.

That’s knot all folks!

Of course, when one thing goes wrong, there’s always something else lurking around the corner. Sure enough right as my shoulder was starting to feel slightly better (which it never fully stopped hurting) I noticed something that looked odd near the church I was running past, and just then I stumbled on one of those mini water manholes. The part that took the brunt of the force was my big toe which has a horrible blister on it right now. So that was pretty excruciating as well.

All in all, I would say that was a pretty good run. Why am I saying it was a good run? Because I finished the run and didn’t slow down too much because of all the pain. I’d say that was pretty good focus so I’m pretty proud of myself.

The pain is gone now right?

I wish. No, the pain in my shoulder is worse than ever. Time to go find some pain meds. The sheer throbbing in my shoulder is enough to hunch me over. I really cannot stand up straight right now, but I’m still pretty happy about the run.

Leave a Reply

