Book Review: Catching Fire


Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2)Book Title: Catching Fire
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Format: Google Play eBook
Pages: 400

After reading Suzanne Collins’ first book in this series I was excited for more action and adventure. What I got was mostly the opposite. That’s not to say I was disappointed; far from it. The second book in “The Hunger Games” trilogy focuses more so on the political games of the Capital and the Districts of Panem. So much of the book is dedicated to subtle hints that a rebellion is on the horizon. The psychological intricacies of this portion of the story are quite well written which can be a very difficult thing to do after such a successful and action packed first book.

I found that my guesses as to what the Capital was planning to do to Katniss and Peeta to punish them ended up being correct, though I don’t feel that the story was overly predictable. I thoroughly enjoyed the twists Collins threw in with the Games and how it wound up backfiring on the Capital. The story you don’t hear is just as interesting as the one you do. We begin learning more about the rebellion and who is involved as Katniss does which I found quite entertaining and sets up the third book perfectly.

I definitely feel the political drama and build up has sucked me in and I cannot wait to start the finale installment of the trilogy soon. I honestly can’t find any glaring complaints with this second book. It was completely different from the first which helped keep it relevant and interesting. I am very interested to see how this second book will be translated into a movie, as it may be seen as a bit slow by those who haven’t read the books, or simply cannot appreciate a story with some depth. Overall, I would highly recommend this book.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Catching Fire

  1. Glad you liked the second book in the trilogy! 🙂 Many usually consider this a slightly disappointing after the first, mainly because of the political intricacies. What are your ideas on how Collins’ will end the novel, before you read it? Any theories?

  2. At first I thought I might get bored, but the way she laid it all out was quite intriguing. I’ve started the 3rd book and am only a little ways in, but I feel right now that after the war, which I can only assume the rebels will win, there may or should be some sort of issues with the way District 13 governs and there would then be some sort of fight for power to ensure a true Republic is established. Where I’m at right now, District 13 just doesn’t seem much better than the Capital.

    I’ve started putting one of my shorts down right now, though I find I don’t have a lot of time for creative work. Oh well… I’ll get it written. I gotta drag out the handwritten stuff too. Thanks for stopping by again.

  3. Gotta say, I really LOVED the book! I wasn’t expecting the ending to be like that! Not to Peeta, not to Finnick! I was like.. please don’t tell me he’ll die.. And what was all that about District 13? I was expecting that there might be one though. I think that Collins knew what would the readers expect so she wrote a good ending there!

    • Yeah, I thought the last maybe two chapters were the best of the book and honestly made the entire book worth reading through all of the drama. Basically I feel she left it hanging that you’d be pretty foolish not to go pick up the third book to find out what happens with this 13th district and what happens to Peeta and all the others. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

