Book Review: Alice in Zombieland


Book Title: Alice in Zombieland
Author: Nikolas Cook
Book Format: Kindle eBook
Pages: 219

I decided to check this book out solely based on the title. A re-write of the classic “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” as a zombie story was too much for me to pass up. To begin, I was skeptical, dare I say, annoyed, at the thought of taking a classic children’s fairy tale and modifying it into some horror story.

Unfortunately, I completed the book disappointed. It was certainly an interesting take on the classic, but it really felt like a replica without its own purpose. I’ve read other reviews in which people found the story quite funny; I found it difficult to find humor instead of annoyance or confusion. Let’s be honest, though, the original too is quite outlandish and somewhat hard to follow, but this story simply adds to the craziness, but not to the story itself.

Had the story been much longer I don’t know if I would have finished it. The most intriguing part of it all is trying to compare the original to this new story. Perhaps if I was in a different mood I might have had a different opinion, but overall I would say the story was average at best. There was something in it, though, that kept my interest so I must take that into account which is why I would not count this story as a bad work, just not overly satisfying. It’s a quick read, though, so if you’re looking for a quick story while you wait for that best seller to arrive in the mail it’s not the worst choice you could make.

Leave a Reply

