Book Review: World War Z


Book Title: World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
Author: Max Brooks
Book Format: Kindle
Published: 
Pages: 352

I was excited when World War Z by Max Brooks had come available at my local library. I quickly downloaded it to my Nexus and started reading. Having read The Zombie Survival Guide last year, I had high expectations.

As far as I know, there is nobody who has more knowledge about Zombies than Max Brooks. The details regarding how a Zombie acts and thus, how we as humans should or should not react is certainly Brooks’ domain. This story was very different from the aforementioned Survival Guide. Namely, this was not written in the tongue-in-cheek style. It was written as a series of interviews with survivors of the Zombie Apocalypse or World War Z.

I found, at times, this style was a little hard to follow. I couldn’t remember who was who and where they were at. Jumping back and forth from different accounts was great for all the details, but it was difficult to develop the characters in my own mind as we jumped around.

Needless to say, the story was solid and even with the somewhat strange format, I was intrigued enough to continue reading. The biggest disappointment was the ending. The end really just doesn’t do anything. There is no end, which I suppose is what the real ending to a zombie apocalypse would be. No real closure, no real end, just, the end.

I liked the book, but I think it could have been better. I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars namely because of the confusing writing style.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: World War Z

  1. I love that book! The pacing was such that I raced through it – devoured it, you might say! I loved the different perspectives from all over the world. It made me think ‘what would you do in that situation?’ Looking forward to seeing the film version that is out soon. Inevitably, it looks like it will veer away from the source though.

    • I can’t wait to see the movie too, but I agree, I imagine they will stray from the book considerably. I really liked the book, but I felt the pacing was too fast. Perhaps I wanted a little more from each section. You can’t go wrong with Brooks’ Zombie knowledge though. His attention to details is impeccable when it comes to how Zombies act. I wonder how I’d react in a zombie outbreak all the time, but that could just be something I shouldn’t admit… 🙂

Leave a Reply

