Digital or Physical Comics?


Here’s my dilemma; I’ve been getting into comic books (graphic novels) a lot in the last month to two months now and I think I’m ready to start buying some. What I’d like to do is check out the DC Comics The New 52 series. I’ve read a couple of them and have really liked them. The problem is that I want to read all 52, or at least Volume 1 of all 52. As I see it. I have 4 options as noted below.

Give me your opinion

Digital from DC Comics Direct

Price Per Book – $0.99
Total Cost for all – $52.00

Pros

  • Cheapest route
  • Guaranteed available (for the most part)
  • Very Portable
  • Backed up (can’t lose in a fire)
  • Cheap and easy to continue buying additional volumes (if they keep the price down)
  • Cheap enough I can buy the volumes I love in hardcover or paperback

Cons

  • Less nostalgic reading
  • Can’t share with friend
  • No guarantee the prices will remain down

DC Comics: The New 52 (contains all 52 volume 1’s in Hardcover)

Average Price Per Book – $2.26
Total Cost for all – $117.64

Pros

  • Cheapest physical route (not too far off from Digital)
  • Guaranteed available (for a limited time)
  • Nostalgia, but maybe not as much in a bundled format
  • Can share with friends

Cons

  • Big & Heavy
  • No guarantee the prices will remain down
  • No guarantee (unlikely) that all volumes will be bundled like this

Paperback from Amazon

Price Per Book – $10.00-$15.00
Total Cost for all – $520-$780

Pros

  • Availability but may be limited
  • Nostalgia
  • Can share with friends
  • Portable (not as portable as Digital)

Cons

  • Expensive (especially if wanting to buy more in series)
  • Not as durable

Hardcover from Amazon

Price Per Book – $17.00-$24.00
Total Cost for all – $884-$1,248

Pros

  • Availability but may be limited
  • Nostalgia
  • Can share with friends
  • Portable (not as portable as Digital)

Cons

  • Expensive (Out of my price range to get all 52)

I need your help. Which should I do? I’m leaning towards the electronic versions right now simply because it’s so cheap. Let me know by completing the poll I’ve attached to this article. Thank you for your help, if you participate. If you want, leave me feedback in the comments too as to why you like one over the other.

Leave a Reply

