Comic Review: Dead Boy Detectives Vol. 1: Schoolboy Terrors


Dead Boy Detectives Vol. 1: Schoolboy Terrors
Dead Boy Detectives Vol. 1: Schoolboy Terrors by Toby Litt
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I was so excited to win this comic from the Goodreads First Reads Giveaways. I started reading it immediately and that is where my excitement ended. As you can see, I gave it 2 of 5 stars. The premise is interesting. Two boys who met their demise and are now ghosts. They are, for some reasons, now detectives who help the world of the dead solve problems. Seems reasonable enough to be interesting.

Unfortunately, the story was all over the place. I couldn’t follow the story and keep my interest in it. It took me way too long to read it. I felt I was missing a lot of story to truly understand what was going on. I understand from some of the description that this story is a spin off from Neil Gaiman comics, which I’ve yet to read, so perhaps reading that would be helpful.

I hate to give this book such a low rating, but I find I have to. The artwork was the best part of the book, but the story was just so difficult to follow that I found I wasn’t looking at the pictures. In my opinion, less dialogue and/or narration might have helped the story. Let the pictures do more of the work.

Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this book. It just didn’t accomplish anything for me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

