Comic Review: Animal Man, Vol. 3: Rotworld: The Red Kingdom


Animal Man, Vol. 3: Rotworld: The Red Kingdom

Animal Man, Vol. 3: Rotworld: The Red Kingdom by Jeff Lemire

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This series is getting better and better. I couldn’t sleep last night so I sat down with this book and finished it all. Typically I don’t have time to read an entire TPB in one sitting but I couldn’t put this one down.

I’m not going to get too into the story line as that would divulge too much of the story and I don’t like including spoilers, but what I can say, is that Buddy Baker and Alec Holland (Swamp Thing) work together to attempt to defeat The Rot and save the world. I didn’t expect to see the likes of Superman and Wonder Woman, or Frankenstein, but low and behold there they are and it was a great addition to the story.

The story was superb and the art continued to deliver. The Animal Man series is simply creepy, yet beautiful. I cannot get over the terrifying creatures of The Rot in this book. I highly recommend this series to anyone without a squeamish stomach. Plus, you finally will get to find out what Maxine (Buddy’s daughter) can actually do.

This book very much deserves this 5 star rating. I expect Volume 4 should be as good, though it’ll be a tough on to be better.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

