SharePoint_Config_Log File Growing Too Large


If you manage both your SharePoint environment and your SQL environment, you may find that the SharePoint_Config_Log.ldf file keeps growing far too large. Here is a quick way to reduce the size of the file. There are other articles that explain how to do this for older versions of SQL server, but I found this one to work for me in my environment.

Environment

  • Windows Server 2012
  • SQL Server 2012 SP1
  • SharePoint 2013 Standard

Solution

  1. Run the SQL Server Management Studio 2012
  2. Select the SharePoint_Config database (you may have renamed yours)
  3. Open a new Query window
  4. Enter the following commands (Make sure you change the DB name if you don’t use the default name)
USE SharePoint_Config
GO
ALTER DATABASE SharePoint_Config SET RECOVERY 
SIMPLE
DBCC SHRINKFILE(N'SharePoint_Config_log', 1)
ALTER DATABASE SharePoint_Config SET RECOVERY 
FULL
GO

This will set the recovery mode of the configuration database to Simple which then will shrink the log file then it will reset the database back to FULL. I left mine as Simple as I have no intention of restoring my configuration database should there be an issue.

One thought on “SharePoint_Config_Log File Growing Too Large

  1. Damn, I really wish that I was educated enough to understand what it is you have written about! Hey, if you like to laugh come check out my blog and laugh at me and my life of crime, (former) and my life now putting it all back together again.

Leave a Reply

