Weight Loss Challenge – Days 19 & 20


What a weekend. Or more so, what a Sunday. As the title shows, I neglected to post my Day 19 journal entry. It wasn’t because I was lazy though. The complete opposite really. So, today you all, my wonderful readers (I like to pretend there are more of you and you wake up every day excited to see what I have to say) get two days worth for the price of one. SCORE!

My wife invited some old high school friends over for dinner Sunday night. She offered to order pizza from the local pizza place, but I, in my infinite wisdom said:

“No honey, why don’t we do a build your own pizza night? I could make all the dough… blah… blah… blah.”

Oh, I’m just the smartest cat in the world. So, as soon as we got home from church, I spent the entire day, rolling dough, prepping veggies, feeding the kids, etc etc etc. My wife, who normally is the most helpful person in the world, needed to sleep. She has Fibromyalgia and thus was having a bad day, bad weekend really. I certainly am not complaining that she got to sleep. It was my recommendation that she do so.

Back to the story, I got no lunch. Not for a lack of trying though. I had my food almost ready, then the baby needed to eat. Again, almost ready to eat, and the kids started fighting. So, I gave up on that notion.

20141109_171839

Neither of these was my pizza (I forgot to take a pic) but these are two of the creations made last night. They all looked delicious.

Anyway, the build your own pizza night went great and I ate like a pig. It was so freaking good. I don’t mean to praise myself, but.. scratch that… I do mean to praise myself. I made probably the best pizza in the world last night. Garlic, Basil crust, with diced tomatoes with oregano and garlic, then a handful of pepperoni and some peppers and onions all tucked in nicely with a bed of shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheeses. Then, as a side I had 3 delectable bread sticks (again, homemade). To top it all off, one of our friends brought ice cream and cupcakes, and yes… I partook. Oh it was heaven. And I felt zero guilt. ZERO! Why? Because I knew two things. 1. I hadn’t eaten lunch 2. I had to go play hockey at 8:30pm.

I didn’t really stuff myself, I didn’t eat my entire pizza. Yes, I had 3 bread sticks, but I didn’t really eat any of the chips that were brought or the dip, though it looked extra yummy. I felt I ate a reasonable amount. (I’m still trying to calculate and log just how poorly I actually did)

UPDATE: I finished calculating my intake from last night. Here are the results.

Grand Totals

  • 36 – Points
  • 1961 – Calories
  • 102.8 – Fat
  • 12 – Dietary Fiber
  • 88 – Carbohydrates
  • 77 – Protein

Not awesome by any means, but also, not horrible. Had I crested 2,000 calories I’d have been nervous. The Fat is pretty high and the Carbs are getting higher than they should be, but Protein isn’t too bad. I’ll count this as a successful BAD Day.

Now then, I shouldn’t forget to mention Sunday was Weigh In Day. How did I do?

2.8 Pounds Down

BOOOOO!!!

For a Total Weight Loss to Date of 14.4 Pounds!!!

YAY!!!

Not very good for the week, but you know what, I know why it wasn’t so great, so I just need to make some minor changes, and I’m sure I’ll be back on track. Part of keeping this up, is keeping a positive attitude.

So, Day 20 is today, what do I have in store for me today? Well, I need to go swimming, and I’m a little nervous about how my shoulder is going to hold up. Hockey took a bit of a toll on my shoulder and I’m having a tough time raising my arm. Took some meds for it, so we’ll see. I may just be drowning instead of swimming if that shoulder doesn’t start feeling better soon.

My lunch has a little more fruit and veggies and some more protein then I’ve been eating lately, so hopefully that helps. This week is supposed to be a little more predictable work-wise so I think I should be able to pull at least a 3 or 4 pound loss this week. We shall see won’t we. Have a great week everyone.

Leave a Reply

