Weight Loss Challenge – Day 36-41


I’ve been offline for almost a week because my Dad passed away very suddenly and of course unexpectedly on Tuesday November 25th. As you can imagine, my vigilance for my diet and exercise and writing blog posts took a back seat.

Let me talk briefly about my father. I’ve never been one to post personal content on my blog, though one might consider my weight loss challenge to be very personal. My Dad grew up on a small farm and died on that same farm. He worked extraordinarily hard ever day of his life. He was an honest man. He loved his wife and his 3 boys. He loved his animals and he loved his land. But most importantly he loved God. His strength of character, his faith, his resolve to never let anyone bring him down is what I will always remember. He was the strongest man I know and I will miss him deeply. Everyone should have been so lucky to have met him. Those that did, always thought highly of him. All who knew him will miss him, but none more than my Mom, though she may be the strongest human I’ve ever known. She’ll be ok, and she knows she has her family to rely on.

Tuesday night, I packed the family in the van and we headed up to the hospital. Needless to say, I didn’t track my food intake (who would/could). I didn’t eat all that badly for the 5 days I was staying at my brothers house. To be honest, the first 2 days, I didn’t eat much more than I had been anyway. It’s difficult to eat a lot at my brothers house as they have gone gluten, dairy, and several other things free due to health issues for my brother and some of his children. For those of you who have never done even the gluten free deal, it’s pretty rough to start. Everything tastes either horrible, or like nothing. I miss it when everything tasted like nothing at their house. Now, things have flavors, and I simply do not like them. They use a lot of coconut oil, which of course, I hate despise coconut. Finally I had to go to the store to get some snacks I could tolerate otherwise I would have tipped over dead from eating nothing.

So, by the time I got home this weekend, I had started eating more than I should have as I was getting the foods I preferred and I also started eating some pretty cruddy foods too. Sunday was weigh in day. No reason to not do that right. Here were my results.

0.8 Lbs GAINED

Ack!!! I gained weight!

I’m not worried. If you recall, I didn’t really think I had truly gotten down below the 200 lb mark last week anyway, and less than a 1 lb up is nothing to get upset about. To be honest, I may have technically lost some weight while I was away, but because I only weigh myself once per week, I wouldn’t have known.

Anyway, I have resolved myself to get back on the wagon and start my dieting again. It’s Monday and I’m back to the 1200 calories. I think in a few weeks I’ll bump that up to 1400 calories, but I need to get myself back up and running if you will.

Let’s hope for a great week, though I do have the visitation and funeral coming up this weekend, but let’s not think about that right now. Have a great week everyone.

4 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 36-41

    • Yeah, I was happy with the fact I only gained .8 lbs. In the end, I can drink that amount of weight in water in a couple glasses so no big deal. This week is going to be tough in many ways, so hopefully I can at the least, stay the same, or, it’d be cool if I could lose a little.

      • I was totally thinking that same thing about the water. Try not to worry about your weight yhis next week. It’s a hard time. Just do your best and come back to the challenge when the dust settles.

  1. Stay strong my friend, I am deeply sorry for your loss. It’s a tough blow in many ways when the pillar of strength in your life suddenly shows his mortal side. My dad passed away 2½ years ago at the age of 61 and not a day has gone by that I do not think about him, but the pain of it slowly fades and is replaced by happy memories and gratefulness for having had him in my life for as long as I did.

    Keep a close eye on your mom, the strongest women are in most cases the most stubborn when it comes to asking for help. My mom definitely is that way still to this day.

    It’s good that you’re seeing the big picture and not worrying about the weight gain, it is absolutely irrelevant at the moment. You just take care of yourself and your family, in the best way you deem fit through the harshest of times.

Leave a Reply

