Weight Loss Challenge – Day 42-49


I’m back, finally. As some of you know, my father passed away recently and this last weekend we said our final goodbyes, thus, the lack of posts on my Weight Loss Challenge. So, let’s summarize how the challenge went these last couple weeks.

I did a lot of travelling over the past two weeks. Travelling is usually one of my weakest times for eating. Sitting in a car for hours on end is a junk food paradise for me. I didn’t do too bad this time. Perhaps it’s due to the emotion involved, but I think it was more because I had actually created a bit of a good eating habit before, and thus, I made conscious decisions to not buy the donuts and chips etc.

That’s not to say I was perfect. The 1,200 calorie per day diet went out the door right away, and I’m totally ok with that. Sunday was supposed to be a weigh in day and I decided that it wasn’t important enough to do this week. I’m getting back on the weight loss wagon today, but there’s going to be a bit of a change to the diet from now until the end of the year. I’m going to increase my daily intake from 1,200 calories to 1,600. It’s a little off what my original plan was, but honestly, if you can’t make some compromises during a diet/weight loss challenge, then you may not be listening to your body. In the end, I always was planning to increase my intake for the holidays, and I still will even beyond the 1,600, but for now, I still need to mourn the loss of my Dad, and doing 1,200 calories per day with my mind where it is, just isn’t possible. I need to be more focused to do that, so here I am jumping up to 1,600.

I’m sure nutritionists and everyone else who has a brain will still shake their head and insist I’m being unhealthy by eating such a low amount of calories. I get it, I agree, though 1,600 is getting a little closer to what a recommended intake for someone my size should do to lose 1-2 lbs. per week.

I’ll let you all in on a little secret, though. I did weigh myself this weekend, I just didn’t feel it was important to document it and focus on it. I simply wanted to know how badly I ate while I was away from home and away from my diet. I documented very little of what I ate over the last 2 weeks so I was curious to see was I ballooning and fattening up like a Christmas goose or not. The unofficial weight on Sunday was 200 lbs. exactly. So, technically, I lost a tiny bit of weight this last week since I was at 200.4 the week before. So, I pretty much stayed the same weight which I interpret that I’ve started to create a habit of eating right even when I do not document what I am eating. So there is a huge win, possibly bigger than a 5 lb loss in my book. I’m still not making this an official weigh in record, though I cannot entirely explain why.

Now that I’m back, I need to refocus and try my best to dive again into the world of self-control. What are some of your strategies you use to fight that ever present urge to lose control and eat everything you see? My biggest strategy lately has been Protein. Thanks to one of you readers, I got over my pride and took the advice to increase my Protein intake and lo-and-behold, I’m doing quite well with the urges.

One thought on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 42-49

  1. Good to see you back and that you’re doing as well as you are during a harsh time in your life. You do what your body tells you to do and the protein definitely helps keep you satiated, and it’s been proven that protein during the breakfast makes the lunch inevitably smaller etc all that. You know what you’re doing! Now just keep doing it!

    For me after a cheat day or so, when I’ve had a taste of the sweet life outside of pure control, I just pick myself up and go “You want to live, you don’t want to die, so let’s jump back on the bandwagon, take part in that parade in stride!” … God I suck at rhyming, anyway! All the best for you man, take care.

Leave a Reply

