Best Tool For Server Managers


If you’re like me, you support applications on many servers. There are plenty of tools out there to make our lives more efficient, but I’d have to say the Microsoft Remote Desktop Connection Manager v2.2 has to be the best free tool out there for me. I used to use a slightly older version a few years ago, then I changed jobs and completely forgot about. Well, I rediscovered it the other day and man, I wish I had never forgotten about it.

Here are just some of the many features I like using.

  • ManageĀ all your servers via RPD in a single location
  • Organize all servers in a hierarchical format
  • Create connection profiles based on groups of servers
  • Store login credentials for all servers/groups of servers
  • Connect to entire groups of servers with single action
  • Disconnect to entire groups of servers with single action
  • Log Off of entire groups of servers with single action
  • At a Glance view of connected and disconnected servers
  • At a Glance view of group of servers’ consoles
  • Single window view

The above list is just a pittance of the overall features. Originally, I would save an RDP connection file for each server I would manage in a folder structure on my computer. Then I’d have to double click on each server blah blah blah. Now, I can open one program and all my servers are right there with all the connection settings already set. I can right click a group of servers and choose to connect to all of them and I’m done.

Snap1

This is such a great efficiency tool. I know there are plenty of paid for tools and some free ones out there too, but this is by far the best free one I’ve used in a long time (which is why I was just using the RDP connection file before).

If you manage more than 1 server, I highly recommend you consider giving this a try. You can even save your configuration file/s and share with others on your team so they don’t have to set everything up. One note though, if you are storing passwords, when you save the config file and transfer to someone else, they will need to re-enter the passwords as they are encrypted and opening on another machines seems to not have the right decryption key. No biggie for my team as there’s only two of us.

Leave a Reply

