Weight Loss Challenge – Day 56 – 62


It’s been a little while since I last wrote. I’m finding it harder to keep up with the writing end of this challenge. The eating side has been going well to a certain degree. With all of the issues my family has gone through over the last several weeks, I’m pretty satisfied with how things have been going. With my Dad’s passing, I stopped documenting my eating for a while, then my oldest brother announced he and his fiance were moving their wedding day up from September 2015 to this past weekend. Thus, more travelling.

So, now that I’ve laid out a whole bunch of excuses, how did I do last week? Sunday was weigh in day, so let’s just get to it.

Weight Loss = 1.6 lbs

Total Weight Loss = 25.4 lbs

20141222_070820

1 1/2 pounds last week isn’t too bad. I would have liked to see something over 2 pounds, but you have to consider everything that’s been going on and the fact that the holidays are here. Honestly, to not be gaining weight is really a victory in itself so I’m truly trying my best to keep everything positive.

How have I kept up the constant weight loss? Honestly, it’s been getting tougher, but I’ve been trying to cram as much protein into my diet as possible. That doesn’t mean I’m succeeding in getting the right amount in, but I’ve done my best. Beef/Turkey jerky have been the best go-to for me. I know there are many non-animal product proteins out there, but I like meat, and this stuff is just so good.

Anyway, my goal for this week is pretty different. I want to maintain. Thus, I’m fine with eating up to 2,000 calories or even more so long as my weigh in day shows me maintaining my weight. If I can do that, I’ll be so happy.

What is everyone else trying to accomplish over the holidays? Are you planning to lose, stay the same, or have you accepted that you’re going to gain and started embracing it?

8 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 56 – 62

  1. Great job! Especially considering the unfortunate circumstances. Good goal for the week ahead.
    I took last week off from the gym AND ate more calories. Then my birthday was Saturday which was pretty indulgent. I was just praying that my gum shorts fit this morning lol! They did so I am taking that as a win. As far as this week. I am doing the same as you and just staying under 2000 calories.
    Again, great job!

    • Ha ha. For all i would have known, gum shorts could have been some new fitness fad. Though if you had a pair of sorts made of chewing gum that would be disgusting and would be really tough to stand up with from any workout bench.

      Good luck with your calorie goal. I’m sure you’ll do great.

  2. Dr. Wantneedwill or: How I learned to stop worrying and love the weight gain.

    I’m embracing the hell out of it for Christmas and then returning to my regular routines the day after! 🙂

    • I love it. I’m on the fence of do I just toss the tracking and the caring entirely for 2 days or do I maintain some semblance of control. I’m leaning towards tossing it all.

      We deserve it right? (I can’t encourage anybody else to toss their weight loss goals out the window, I’d feel too guilty, but my own, I can live with that)

      Good luck and Merry Christmas.

      • I don’t really know if it’s about deserving it or not – for me it’s purely about “What do I want Christmas to be for the rest of my life?” 🙂

        What others do is none of my business, as I can only control my own body – and even that is a bit iffy at times! As such I will never tell someone they _should_ do something – will respect their own choices, the same as you 🙂

        Merry Christmas/Happy Holidays (look at me, being all politically correct 😛 )

      • Yeah, no need to be PC on my blog. Though trying not to tell others what they should or shouldn’t do is more just being a good person than PC. Though I do think our culture/generation whatever it may be is getting to overly sensitive when someone does tell them what to do. But that’s getting way off topic.

        I like your thoughts about what do you want Christmas to be for the rest of your life. I’m only thinking in terms of “this” christmas for me, but yeah, I want my Christmas to be that of happiness and enjoyment. I enjoy Christmas cookies and all the other foods that come with the holidays. So, I don’t want to miss out on this once per year experience. I’ve built a strong enough base that I’ll get back to losing weight when Christmas has passed.

Leave a Reply

