Weight Loss Challenge – Day 73 | Baby Got Back!


Yesterday I wrote about how I threw out my back holding the baby. I predicted I’d be feeling much better by today, which turns out to be very much correct. Whoo Hoo!

I hate back problems. I’ve had them for a really long time. That is one of the key reasons I’ve been working to maintain a healthy weight for about 10 or so years now. Over the last 73 days I’ve been on a Weight Loss Challenge because I “let myself go.” I’ve lost about 25 pounds and have been feeling so much better.

Yesterday was a bit of a scare for me, considering I’ve been doing so well with the weight loss. I’ve even been working my core quite a bit. I was able to deduce that the problem with my back yesterday must have been due to this cold I’ve got in which I have the benefit of trying to hack up my lung like I’ve been chain smoking for 50 years. Whenever I cough my stomach muscles hurt so bad that I can see why my back was starting to hurt. Everything has just been so fatigued.

One other somewhat scary thing from yesterday. I noted that I have some meds I can use for these instances in which my back goes out, but isn’t bad enough to warrant going into the ER (typically they can’t do anything for me except give me some meds for the pain anyway). I took 2 Tramadol right after waking up which is the amount prescribed. Then about 4 hours later, my back pain was getting unbearable again. I took 2 more pills. After I took them, I did a double take in my head about what I’d done. I double checked the label and sure enough, you’re not supposed to redose until after 8 hours. Well, I didn’t think much of it, until about 2 hours later I felt so sick, and so tired at the same time. I though for sure I was going to throw up and sleep for a year.

Needless to say, how I felt was a huge lesson to never assume you know what your dosage levels and frequency are supposed to be for your prescription drugs. I do not like that feeling. I hate taking pills for anything as it is, so when I do something like that and make myself feel horrible, it just solidifies my belief that you should only take meds if you absolutely cannot manage the pain on your own.

I’m fine now, so that’s good. Have a great weekend everyone.

9 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 73 | Baby Got Back!

    • Yeah, lesson learned. No matter how much pain you’re in, read read read the label. 🙂 Though I also think it could be the Christmas ham I ate that afternoon as well. I’m not sure if it was still fresh or not. Pretty sure it was the pills though. Threw out the rest of the ham just in case, though. It’s a cured meat so I’m guessing I would have been fine.

    • I just wish ibueprofen worked for me. Typically, with max dosage, I don’t notice anything. It’s annoying because I prefer to stay away from prescriptions, more so because I’m lazy and don’t want to go to the doctor for a checkup.

      • You’re just like my wife. She won’t go to the doctor unless she gets stabbed in the kidney or something equally ridiculous.

      • Yeah, the worst part is, I have decent health insurance and I work for a world renowned hospital, and yet I still prefer not to go in. I think I’m just cheap.

Leave a Reply

