Comic Review: Marvel Zombies 4


Marvel Zombies 4
Marvel Zombies 4 by Fred Van Lente

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I picked this book up at my local comic book store for $6. I was so excited because it was so cheap and in hardcover. I loved the first volume by Robert Kirkman of the Marvel Zombies franchise that I assumed this book would be on par with the first.

I love zombies, but I don’t love it when a story just doesn’t make a whole lot of sense. I’ve read through volumes 1-3 and this by far has been the least entertaining. In this volume the zombie virus become airborne which of course is catastrophic. There is a race to destroy the virus before it can spread to the entire world. I like the concept of making the virus airborne but they just didn’t do a good job everywhere else. The writers bounced us around so much and didn’t really explain much. They relied too heavily on the art to fill in gaps in the story and I just didn’t feel the art had a chance to be successful.

For the most part the art was good. It did what it could and was pretty creepy which is what I expected. The artists had their hands full trying to tell this story with the sub par job the writers did. My favorite part of the book was Deadpool. He’s my absolute favorite comic book character, so I was excited to see him in this book. The issue I had, was the personality the writers gave the Merc with a Mouth just didn’t jive with the rest of his stories. I’ll leave it to you to decide if I’m being overly critical though.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

