Comic Review: Batman, Vol. 5: Zero Year – Dark City


Batman, Vol. 5: Zero Year - Dark City
Batman, Vol. 5: Zero Year – Dark City by Scott Snyder

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was so excited when I won this book via the Goodreads First Reads giveaway. I love Scott Snyder and I’ve already read much of his work on The New 52 Batman comic book series.

This story takes place when Bruce Wayne is about 25 or so. He must save Gotham from The Riddler’s evil plot to destroy the city. As is typical of The Riddler, the actual intent of the villain is constantly in question, thus, Batman must figure out his actual plan. As is also typical, Batman must play The Riddlers game in order to save the city.

I love the classic Batman villains so this story was right up my alley. The Riddler is probably my 3rd favorite villain behind The Joker and The Penguin so the story itself was great for me.

Where I found the story a bit out of my liking was in the art. The first issue I had, was not in the art, but in the depiction of Bruce Wayne. I’ve never envisioned him with a buzz cut. I had a really hard time believing the character they were showing was Bruce and thus, Batman. Aside from that, which I got over, but it took about 3/4 of the book to get through, my other issue was the Batsuit. This suit that the Batman wears is really ratty looking. Probably intended to show a young, up and coming Batman, but this suit just looks beat up. It looks like he’s wearing a t-shirt with the sleeves ripped off. I prefer the more polished and technically advanced looking batsuits over this one.

Even with those complaints, the book was great. Those minor details I noted really only took one star away. The story was strong enough to carry this book alone. I cannot wait to see what’s next for Batman.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

