Toy Review: DC Collectibles Arkham Asylum | The Joker


It’s Toy Review Tuesday and this week I’m reviewing one of my absolute favorite villains of all time. The Joker has been my favorite villain since I was a kid. My parents did not like the Batman movies or comics and that’s probably a huge part of why I do. It intrigued me that they would be so dead set against it. It’s probably a big part of why I tend toward the darker side of so many things.

1-snapshot-029

  • Character: The Joker
  • Manufacturer: DC Collectibles
  • Series: DC Collectibles Batman: Arkham Asylum 
  • Dimensions: 6.6
  • Weight: 1.6 lbs (Entire Set)
  • Recommended: Ages 14+
  • MSRP: $59.99 | Paid: $41.95
  • Part Number/SKU: MAR140312

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Articulation – ★★★☆☆

As much as I love this Joker figure, the articulation is a little lacking. With that said, it doesn’t affect his ability to be posed in several different ways, it simply makes him seem a little stiff.

  • Arms – There are 3 joints in each arm.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint with full 360 rotation as well as the ability to raise and lower the arm outward
    • Elbows: Pin/Hinge joints allow for about 90 degrees of rotation, with grooves that allow for the joint to stick in place
    • Wrists: Peg Joint allows for 360 degree twist of the hand
  • Legs – There are 2 joints in each leg/hip area
    • Hips: Ball Joint with very limited motion. It’s a standard T-Crotch joint which limits the hip movement to forward and backward movement. Very little if any outward motion at all.
    • Knees: Pin/Hinge Joints with about 60 degree bend ability. Again with grooves allowing the joints to stick in place
    • Ankles: Peg Joint, but this joint is practically useless due to the mold of the pants. The pants limit the range of motion to a minuscule amount.
  • Body: There are no torso joints
  • Head: Ball Joint allows for full 360 degree motion as well as some limited angle motion.

Mold – ★★★★★

The mold of The Joker figure is excellent. The small details is where this figure really excels. From the slight ripple in the upper leg area to the wrinkles in his face. The mold perfectly reflects my expectation of a Joker figure. I don’t play the Arkham video games so I cannot say how closely this figure represents The Joker from the game, but as far as just the look goes, this is top notch. I especially love the soft plastic jacket tail and the little wallet chain is a great detail.

Paint – ★★★★★

As with the excellent detail in the Mold, the paint is just as great. My favorite is the head and more specifically, the Jokers face. The amount of detail is perfect. The colors chosen reflect my vision of the perfect Joker. This Joker is one of the reasons I bought the set in the end.

Accessories – ★☆☆☆☆

There are no accessories that came with this figure

Packaging – ★★★★☆

The packaging that this set comes in is a rectangular box with a plastic window in the front which allows you to see all 4 characters. I prefer this packaging style over the blister/bubble packaging as you can easily stack other boxes on top should you decide not to open your figures. It also protects the figures better in my opinion. As far as the look, the design is nice enough. It’s something I wouldn’t have a problem with displaying, though I wanted my figures out of the box so I could hold them.

Overall Rating – ★★★★☆

Overall, I gave The Joker figure 4 of 5 stars. The articulation is really the only downside to this figure as well as no accessories. It’d be nice to have a gun or something for him to hold. Other than that, the mold and paint are so well done that I still had to give this figure an above average rating. Stay tuned as I review the remaining 3 figures in the set.

2 thoughts on “Toy Review: DC Collectibles Arkham Asylum | The Joker

    • Yeah, I was pleasantly surprised when I threw that filter on the picture. I had to use it. These action figures are getting more and more realistic now days. You can do just a little editing of the pictures and they start looking like real people. Freaky people, but still real enough.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

