Weight Loss Challenge – Day 84 | Hot Potato


Yesterday went exactly as planned. Had a good workout, ate well. All-in-all, my Monday was pretty darn good.

The highlight of my day, however, was a bit unexpected.

I’m not a big Pinterest user, but I’ve found I like the social network for finding interesting recipes. I prefer it over some of the big recipe sites because of their search capabilities and then the ability to quickly pin those items I like and group them. The other tools seem a bit more cumbersome and their search usually is pretty much garbage.

So, what was the unexpected delight yesterday.

CRISPY SMASHED POTATOES

I wish I could take a picture like this, though I also wish my potatoes looked this nice too. Mine tasted awesome, so that’s what’s really important. Picture From http://lovegrowswild.com/2013/10/crispy-smashed-potatoes/

These potatoes are sooo good and really easy to make. As with any potato recipe, plan Snap8for this recipe to take a while to complete though.

I wouldn’t say this is the healthiest recipe for those of you working to lose weight, but it’s not horrible. Below are the nutrition facts of my version of this delectable side dish was. The one change I made to the recipe was minor, though I think it added even more flavor, but added a little more fat. I added a little bit of bacon drippings because I had to make bacon for the meal I was preparing for tonight for my family and I didn’t want to dirty two pans, so I used the same pan that I baked my bacon in. There wasn’t probably even a 1/2 tsp of bacon drippings. I did reduce the overall amount of oil then so I wouldn’t be increasing my overall calories by much.

As the author of the linked article states, these yummy potatoes resemble several different kinds of potatoes we know and love. I felt they were a mix between French Fries, A Baked Potato, and Hash Browns. They were so good I wound up eating two of them last night. Luckily, I had the calories to do it, and at about 300 calories for two, it wasn’t too bad.

So, if you’re looking for an alternative to the standard potato side dish, consider this recipe. It’s a great, not as unhealthy choice for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

