Weight Loss Challenge – Day 87 | When in Rome?


I’ve come to the realization that our home is a veritable petri dish of all the illnesses the earth has and even some undiscovered ones too.

At least one human has been sick in our house every day since November. Our 9 month old was up until nearly 1am fighting off some crud. Finally he fell asleep and slept the remainder of the night.

I awoke this morning to the horrible feeling of… being sick (gasp!) That’s right, the little snot demon provided me with his wonderful blend of upset stomach and other various wonderfulness. So, I did what any good human would do, I went to work. I had to. Too many things needed to get done blah blah blah. It’s not that my work wouldn’t let me take the take off. They are very very flexible. It’s just, today, it feels like this sickness needs some good old fashioned ignoring.

I’m hoping to hit the steam room and sweat some of this crap out, but before that, I’m going to try a very limited workout, to see if the activity will fight this off before it becomes some out of control, in your bed for 48 hours drama between myself and a bucket.

Or, I could have just gone with the flow and let it take over. That would have been nice, to just lay in bed. Have my wife serve me warm tea with some crackers and the children will gather round the bed and console me while singing in perfect harmony “Soft Kitty” to me.

… Add delirious to the list of symptoms I guess. None of that would ever happen at my house. Staying home sick in a house of 3 kids and a wife is the least hospitable place a sick person can be.

Well, have a great Friday. Hope it’s going better than mine, though I can take solace in the fact that I get to save my PTO for something fun, like painting the upstairs of our house someday in the near future.

Oh, I should mention, the diet is going absolutely marvelously so far today. I don’t feel like eating a thing. Amazing. πŸ™‚

One thought on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 87 | When in Rome?

Leave a Reply

