Weight Loss Challenge – Day 90 | 190 @ 90


So here’s my challenge to myself. My goal is to lose 30 pounds within 6 months from now. That means by April, I should have lost my weight.

~Me (90 days ago)

Weight Loss Challenge – Day 1

That was me on October 22nd 2014. Well, we’re now 90 days into this Weight Loss Challenge. Half way done, so what do I have to show for it?

Yesterday was weigh in day. My final weigh in for the first half of my challenge. Here we go.

1-2015-01-020

Hopefully you can tell which picture is the before and which is the after. I didn’t plan on doing Before & After pics. I don’t honestly remember exactly when I took that Before picture so I may not have been exactly 30 lbs heavier. (if you cannot tell, the after is the center one on the right, jerk face. 🙂

Weight Loss this week: 2.6 lbs

Total Weight Loss: 31.4 lbs

Starting Weight: 221.4 lbs

Current Weight Today: 190 lbs

WHAT!!! YES!!! I’ve hit my overall goal of 30 lbs in half the time I planned! Yesterday, when I woke up and went to the scale, I was nervous. Not because I was worried I hadn’t lost any weight, but because I secretly for the last couple weeks was hoping to hit 30 lbs by day 90. I did it. Whew!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now What?

You had to ask didn’t you? Kindof a jerk move don’t you think? 🙂 Ok, here’s my goal for the next 90 days…

Wait, you’re not just calling it good? You’re going to keep going?

Yup!

In the next 90 days, my goal is to lose another 15 lbs. I’d like to get to my “Wedding Day” weight. Not sure why I put that in quotation marks. It really is what I weighed on my wedding day.

What Have You Learned?

I’ve learned a lot about myself. I’ve learned that my ability to persevere is very strong. My Willpower can be strong enough to do anything I put my mind to. I’ve learned that I have a great group of readers who are encouraging me everyday. But most importantly, I’ve learned I’m not alone.

What is Your Advice To Others?

Learn to enjoy 6 M&M’s as a treat. Once you can do that, you can lose as much weight as you want.

Do You Have Any Regrets?

I wish I had started this a long time ago.

Are You Going to Continue Doing Everything the Same?

No. I started the challenge doing an older version of the Weight Watchers diet. As you can see in the gallery above, I quit doing my tracking in that Spreadsheet around the end of November. It was just too difficult to maintain the tracking as it was not easy to input the data on my phone. So I switched to MyFitnessPal.com which has a great mobile app. Their database of foods is huge as well. I can use the in app barcode scanner and there are so many items it finds, it can even find the generic store-brand items that my family tries to buy to save some money.

I’ve also given up on the points tracking. As Caronbot of Shithead Central noted, I was not taking in enough Protein. The points really was focusing on Fiber to allow for the highest food intake. For me, this wasn’t horrible. I was working to take in between 20-22 points per day, which was equating to about 1,000-1,200 calories per day. By no means a diet I would ever recommend to anyone. I still don’t. But it worked for me.

I started the challenge hoping to lose as much weight as fast as possible. The bigger picture was really this.

My Big Picture Plan

  • 1,000-1,200 Calories
    • 1,200-1,400 Calories
      • 1,400-1,600 Calories
        • 1,600-1,800 Calories
          • 1,800-2,000 Calories
            • 2,000-2,200 Calories

I understand my body. More importantly, I understand my mind. I understand to a certain degree (I think) why I have failed to lose the weight on my other attempts. Mentally, if I don’t feel a certain amount of pain, I don’t stay motivated or focused. What better way to feel pain, than to literally starve yourself? Probably 100 other better ways, but in this challenge, this is what I had to do. I will note, I did adjust my calorie intake when I was active. If I burned extra calories, I’d allow myself to eat more food. That is very very important to note as I don’t think I could have done those lower calories phases without doing so.

I’m currently in the 1,600-1,800 calorie stage which happens to be right around the middle of the plan which is awesome since I’m actually at the half-way marker.

The big idea is that if I get myself used to eating lower calories each day, and of course, I mean much lower calories, then when I finally get to 2,000, then my body will be so used to such small amounts of food, that 2,000 calories will feel like I’m eating Thanksgiving dinner everyday.

At this point, when I get to the end of a high activity day such as Sundays (I play hockey) I cannot eat enough points to make up for the activity calories I’ve earned. I try my best to spread the extra calories out throughout the day, but I just cannot eat that much. So, I see that as a huge positive. I’m getting there.

I am concerned about what it’s going to be like 2-3 months after I’ve finished the overall challenge and I’m now used to 2,000 calories. That is why I found I had to find an easier tracking method. Using the mobile app is so easy. I can enter the info as I’m eating, or preferably, before. So the other aspect of this challenge is to create the habit of tracking what I eat. There is a lot of accountability involved in keeping track of what you eat.

In the end, my goal is to never truly be done. Yes, the Weight Loss Challenge will end (I can’t lose weight the rest of my life). The next challenge will have to be a Weight Maintenance Challenge. For now though, I need to think about Day 90. Lunch is coming up and I’ve got to get some work done before I eat and then go workout.

Special thanks to those of you who read my blog. Your support, be it in views, likes, comments, etc are so appreciated and have definitely helped me be successful thus far, so please, don’t stop now. We’re only half-way done.

Have a great day.

10 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 90 | 190 @ 90

  1. Great job sir! It’s good you’re realizing the fact that it doesn’t end. It’s never done. Healthy life is exactly that, life! An entire life time, and as you keep this up, that life will be extended more and more!

    Out of pure curiosity, how tall are you sir? You’re at my goal weight now 🙂

      • Yeah… The metric system is very much more logical, but my American brain just cannot get past the Standard American system. A cm doesn’t register with me like an inch does. Besides, it’d cost so much money for us to replace every traffic sign and tape measure in this country that we’d go into debt… Wait, we’re already in debt… Crap… well, I guess we’re never switching over now. 🙂

        You’re going to get to your goal weight. I know it. Keep on keepin’ on.

  2. Pingback: Weight Loss Challenge – Day 91 | Ugh! | TechChucker's Brain Blast

  3. Pingback: Weight Loss Challenge – Day 180 | The Grand Finale! | TechChucker's Brain Blast

Leave a Reply

