Toy Review: DC Collectibles Arkham Asylum | Harley Quinn


It’s Toy Review Tuesday again and this week I’m reviewing my favorite female comic book character, Harley Quinn. She’s one of the newer villains in the DC Universe and one of the strangest, which is a big part of why I love her so much. I bought Harley as a part of a 4 piece set by DC Collectibles. I’ve already reviewed The Joker. Stay tuned for Scarecrow and Batman in the next few weeks.

1-snapshot-061

Articulation – ★★★☆☆

Articulation wise, Harley has a decent amount of poses she can do, though she does have some limitations that make posing a little difficult at times. Had they either changed the head joint or added another leg joint, I would have given Harley at least 4 stars. Unfortunately, she has to be relegated to just 3 stars.

  • Arms – There are 4 joints in each arm which is insane for just a 6″ figure.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint with full 360 rotation as well as the ability to raise and lower the arm outward. The mold of her shoulder works great as there is little to no view of the often unseemly joint that many figures have.
    • Upper Arm: Pin Joint allows for full 360 degree turn of the arm which increases Harley’s poses she can do with her gun which is awesome.
    • Elbows: Pin/Hinge joints allow for about 90 degrees of rotation, with grooves that allow for the joint to stick in place
    • Wrists: Peg Joint allows for 360 degree twist of the hand
  • Legs – There are 2 joints in each leg/hip area. It would have been nice to have had an ankle joint, though with her boots, I can see why they didn’t do so.
    • Hips: Ball Joint with very limited motion. It’s a standard T-Crotch joint which limits the hip movement to forward and backward movement. Very little if any outward motion at all.
    • Knees: Pin/Hinge Joints with about 80 degree bend ability. Again with grooves allowing the joints to stick in place.
  • Body: There are no torso joints
  • Head: Peg Joint allows for full 360 degree motion. It would have been so much better had she had a ball joint to allow for a little more motion in her head.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★★★☆

Harley’s mold is very nice. She’s got lots of details. Some of the most notable are the stolen warden name tag, as well as the actual fabric fishnets she’s wearing. Her boots are wonderfully molded, though I’ve noticed her left leg is slightly longer than her left, which forces Harley to only be posed in positions that put her left foot forward. This isn’t a horrible thing, but just know, you’re going to need to bring that foot forward to keep her standing on her own.

My favorite part about Harley is her pigtails. The detail of her hair is amazing. In terms of action figures, her hair is nearly real looking. I really love this figure and they managed to mold her in not too risque a manner that I can feel relatively comfortable having Harley Quinn on my shelf at work.

One cool, yet odd part about the mold of Harley Quinn is her skirt. It’s a mini mini skirt that is of a soft plastic/rubber. It’s a great feature, though it’s not really connected to her which would lead one to believe it’s to allow for hip movement. Unfortunately as we found, there is no hip joint. It’s still a cool feature, but just a bit odd in my book.

A final positive note for Harley is her trigger finger on her right hand. They molded that hand perfectly to hold her gun with her finger actually fitting in the trigger guard so she can look like she’s actually able to squeeze a round off. Those details are hard to come by with some figures.

Paint – ★★★★☆

I think the paint on this Harley Quinn was really done well. There’s not a lot of shading done here, but in this instance, I think it works without a whole lot. There isn’t a lot of texturing done with the paint, though where they do it, it really works. The little bit of blush on her cheeks does an amazing job at highlighting this figure.

The blood spattering on the skirt is a great detail as is the gold links on her corset. I love the paint on this figure.

Accessories – ★★★☆☆

Harley comes with a single accessory, a handgun of some sort. I would have preferred her signature hammer/mallet, but the packaging was clear that she came with a gun so I cannot complain. I preferred the mold of this Harley Quinn over the ones that came with the mallet so I’m happy with it.

Packaging – ★★★★☆

The packaging that this set comes in is a rectangular box with a plastic window in the front which allows you to see all 4 characters. I prefer this packaging style over the blister/bubble packaging as you can easily stack other boxes on top should you decide not to open your figures. It also protects the figures better in my opinion. As far as the look, the design is nice enough. It’s something I wouldn’t have a problem with displaying, though I wanted my figures out of the box so I could hold them.

Overall Rating – ★★★★☆

Overall, I gave Harley Quinn 4 of 5 stars. She really hits every category with a solid showing, even with some weaknesses, I still feel this figure is a must buy if you like the Harley Quinn comic book figure.

5 thoughts on “Toy Review: DC Collectibles Arkham Asylum | Harley Quinn

    • Ha ha… That’s awesome. And it’s an “Action Figure” by the way. ha ha ha 🙂

      Honestly, I feel really weird having it up at work. It’s probably pretty borderline at best if it’s appropriate for a work shelf. I’m not a big fan of how comics depict women (hero or not). Too trashy. It’s probably because I have 2 daughters. It’s really hard to find a decently dressed female superhero though.

      • Right! ACTION FIGURE! That’s what I meant!

        Yes, my dad said the same thing. Somethings that were ok before were not ok anymore once he had a daughter.
        You’re right though. I guess because the fan base of comics and video games is predominantly male.

  1. Pingback: Toy Review: Marvel Legends | Black Widow | TechChucker's Brain Blast

  2. Pingback: Toy Review: Marvel Legends | Captain Marvel | TechChucker's Brain Blast

Leave a Reply

