Weight Loss Challenge – Day 100 | Keeping Up


I’m having a hard time keeping up with my commitment to posting a Weight Loss Challenge journal entry everyday. How do people who aren’t being paid to maintain a blog do it?

Anyway, thus far, this week has been going great, though I did cheat this morning and weighed myself. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t what I was expecting. It showed now real movement. I know I shouldn’t have checked. Half a week really isn’t going to show much for progress, but it’s still a hard pill to swallow and keep oneself motivated to continue on with trying to lose weight.

I’m now working to purge that from my memory. I had a good workout today and thus far I’m on track for my calorie intake. Yesterday was even better for calories. Typically on Wednesdays I don’t get to the gym because I work from home, so I don’t usually get any additional activity calories. That puts me at a straight up 1,600 calories for the day. I managed to finish the day out with 29 calories left. I was so going to find a way of eating those last 29 calories too, possibly a few more because I was quite hungry, but then the 9 month old decided to wake up and thoroughly saturate his crib with puke. Awesome, no eating after that.

I’m confident this week will end on Sunday with a weigh in that is in the loss column, but I just don’t know how much. I’m not going to dwell on that little negative, but I will dwell on the positives I’ve been getting this week with my workouts. Again, todays workout went very well. I focused more on my upper body lifts than I did on the rowing, though that was a pretty intense workout as well.

How often do you weigh yourself and why?

5 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 100 | Keeping Up

  1. Don’t worry too much about your weight, your body could likely be re-compositioning too. πŸ™‚ I weight myself most days to be honest, typically when I’ve eaten a lot I’m curious as to how my body reacts. Typically the day after a high calorie day, I find myself holding about 500g of water so I like to see how exactly my body deals with it. πŸ™‚

    Other than that I can do days/weeks without weighing myself.

    • Thanks for stopping by. If I weighed myself regularly (daily) I think I’d drive myself insane. Mentally I’m not mature enough to do that without then stressing about the number. Weekly is the best for me and it has to be the same time of day every week, otherwise I don’t trust what I’ve seen.

  2. Well, you know me, daily weigh-ins and announcing it to the world. It’s pure habit to me. I also post every day with no profit to be had, but if someone gets something out of what I’m writing, that makes it all worth while to me πŸ™‚

    Stay strong and keep it up!

    • I was hoping to build the habit of posting everyday. There are even days I start my daily post and get interrupted and wind up never finishing. I suppose I should just shorten the posts. I always figure the particular items in my head just aren’t interesting enough to me, let along to everyone else. I sure enjoy everyone else’s stuff though.

      • I usually write my posts in segments, like… a lot of it is the same every day, like the topic (or well most of it!) and the segments with food and exercise. Ctrl+C & Ctrl+V, my best friends when it comes to time save πŸ™‚

        I make the core of the post ready in the morning, then when I have time or I sit down from my walking, I add things to it, save draft, and on my way I go again. Adding the details of the day in as they get done.

        And then finally if I’ve had any thoughts during the day, can write those in last and then finally read through the whole post, schedule it and off I go once more.

        I’ve noticed that doing it in segments really helps when it comes to writing a post daily, since there will always be dead minutes in a day where you’re doing nothing, can harness them to good use!

Leave a Reply

