Toy Review: DC Collectibles Arkham Asylum | Batman


It’s Toy Review Tuesday again and this week I’m reviewing my all time favorite super hero, Batman. I really feel like I can relate to Batman and Bruce Wayne, because I too… wait, no… I have nothing in common with either of them. But anyway, something has drawn me so much to Batman, so when I had the opportunity to pick up this figure with the Arkham Asylum pack, I had to jump on it.

1-snapshot-034

  • Character: Batman
  • Manufacturer: DC Collectibles
  • Series: DC Collectibles Batman: Arkham Asylum 
  • Dimensions: 6.75
  • Weight: 1.6 lbs (Entire Set)
  • Recommended: Ages 14+
  • MSRP: $59.99 | Paid: $41.95
  • Part Number/SKU: MAR140312

Articulation – ★★☆☆☆

This Batman figure is a little disappointing articulation wise. Of the 4 figures in this set, Batman has the least points of articulation (POA’s). Thus answers the question of why did I give Batman just 2 stars. Let’s take a look at what he does have.

Total POA’s = 13

  • Arms – There are 3 POA’s on Batman’s arms, though I they don’t really give him that many reasonable poses due to his cape limiting his shoulder articulation. I really wish he had wrist joints. That would really have made this figures arms good.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint with very limited rotation back and forth. NOTE: My Batman figure is unable to move his left arm back and forth entirely. It must have been a manufacturing defect on this figure hopefully. His shoulders to raise out which is helpful.
    • Elbows: Pin/Hinge joints allow for about 75 degrees of motion. There is no joint grooving here though so the motion is smooth, but I would anticipate this joint would start getting loose if there is a lot of use.
    • Forearm: Peg Joint allows for 360 degree twist of the forearm. This is a helpful POA on this figure.
  • Legs – There are 3 joints in each leg/hip area. It would have been nice to have had an ankle joint, though with the boots, I can see why they didn’t do so, just like on the Harley Quinn figure.
    • Hips: Ball Joint with very limited motion. It’s a standard T-Crotch joint which limits the hip movement to forward and backward movement.
    • Knees: Pin/Hinge Joints with about 90 degree bend ability. This joint has the grooves his elbows are sorely lacking.
    • Lower Leg: Peg Joints that allow for a full 360 rotation of the lower leg (boot).
  • Body: There are no torso joints which he is sorely missing
  • Head: Ball Joint allows for full 360 degree motion though the tilt capability on Batman is very limited.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★★☆☆

The mold of this Batman figure seems a bit, unimpressive. In the end, what more can you do with Batman? The detail is fine, but not as amazing as I was expecting it to be compared to the other figures in the set. My guess is much of this figure is likely recycled from other versions of Batman or even other figures. What I do like, though, is his cape. This is really cool. It’s a softer plastic which gives it some flexibility. The biggest issue with it, though, is that it makes Batman very difficult to pose as the cape is so heavy that he tends to want to fall backwards. Luckily, the cape is rigid enough that you can use the cape itself to hold him up. Batman’s head is quite good. I liked the sculpt of his head and the cowl especially. I prefer the cowl to have somewhat longer ears. I don’t like the really long of some other versions of Batman, but I also don’t like the shorter either. His cowl was actually a big reason I wanted to get this set in the first place. The mold of his face is quite menacing which is great.

Overall, I gave Batman 3 stars because, though he’s not bad, he’s not that exciting. There isn’t the detail throughout like the other figures.

Paint – ★★★☆☆

The paint is decent on Batman. With the lack of details in the mold of the figure, the paint suffers. Because there are very few wrinkles or grooves of any sort, I’m sure it’d be tough to be inspired to paint something amazing on this figure. don’t get me wrong, I like the color scheme. My favorite Batman color scheme is the all black suit, but the next is the grey and black suit which is this figure. The most detail on this figure is on Batman’s utility belt. The gold works well, though the details they put in with hints of silver for the clips gives the appearance of worn paint instead of the added detail I’m sure they were looking for.

The biggest positive on this figure is the paint on Batman’s face. His jaw looks very natural with the skin tone as well as the slight pink lips. The best is his eyes though. We actually get a real eye look, not just the white. This really gives Batman a fierce look.

Accessories – ★★★★☆

Batman comes with two accessories. The most of all the figures in the set. I love the batarang. This is pretty cool. It’s all black and has a joint so it can be folded which is awesome. Getting it to stay in his hand is a bit of a trick, but that’s a mold issue, not an issue with the accessory itself.

He also comes with what appears to be a grappling hook gun. This is a cool looking gun though I have yet to be able to get Batman to be able to hold it. Again, this is a problem with the mold of his hands, not the gun itself.

Packaging – ★★★★☆

The packaging that this set comes in is a rectangular box with a plastic window in the front which allows you to see all 4 characters. I prefer this packaging style over the blister/bubble packaging as you can easily stack other boxes on top should you decide not to open your figures. It also protects the figures better in my opinion. As far as the look, the design is nice enough. It’s something I wouldn’t have a problem with displaying, though I wanted my figures out of the box so I could hold them.

Overall Rating – ★★★☆☆

Overall, I gave Batman 3 of 5 stars. I wanted to rate him higher, but I just couldn’t since his partners from the set got 4 stars and they were so much better in the Articulation, Mold, and Paint departments. I love Batman, and I love this Batman figure. I just cannot claim it to be better than an average figure. If you’re a Batman fan buying this set is a great idea.

Do you have any of these figures? If so, do you have a review to share? Please share in the comments or link to your review.

Leave a Reply

