Comic Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Vol. 1: Change is Constant


Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Vol. 1: Change is Constant
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Vol. 1: Change is Constant by Kevin Eastman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love pretty much everything there is about the Turtles so when I had the opportunity to buy the first volume of this new series, I jumped. So, I said I love everything about the turtles, I should preface this with, it’s a pretty superficial uneducated love. I pretty much know what I know from the late 80’s cartoon and the Hollywood movies. So I’m no expert.

This story gives us a very recognizable origin story of how our favorite turtles and their beloved father/sensei Splinter make their way into our lives. There are a few things we need to recognize and get over, those of us who only know the turtles from Hollywood. First, in this volume, the brothers don’t wear different colors. No blue Leonardo, or red Raphael. No worries, though this makes it really difficult to pick them out, until you find the weapons they’re using. The other big difference here is in the actual origin story. The way this story plays it out, Raphael seems to have been lost shortly after being exposed to the mutagen. Thus, we follow the other three brothers working to track him down for the majority of their lives. Their primary foe in this volume is a mutant known as Old Hob. He’s a cat/man who is working for our beloved villain General Krang. This story fits what I’ve known of the different characters, though April O’Neil has a bit of an upgrade in her intelligence by making her a scientist who was working on the project in which the turtles and Splinter were involved.

The biggest flaw I see to the story, was that the turtles are needed to get the mutagen back to continue the work being done. My question is, why couldn’t that mutagen simply be taken from Old Hob? Perhaps he wasn’t the result of the same ooze mutagen as the turtles, but it would be good to understand how he came about, otherwise, why the need for the turtles at all.

Overall, I thought the book was great. Like I said, I love pretty much everything turtles so I was easily able to get over any of the differences I’ve been accustomed too, plus, knowing it was created by the original Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles makes it easy to get over any differences or expectations I may have had. The story is different enough to make it worth reading. This is not just another regenerated copy of past work as far as I’m concerned.

I cannot wait to start in on volume two soon.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

