Weight Loss Challenge – Day 115 | It’s Not Complicated


This week I’ve been phoning in my workouts. Yes, I’ve still been working out, but it has not been as good as I would like or have in the recent past. When I am working out, I am still working out hard. The intensity level is still up there. I’m still pushing myself, but the duration has been drastically shortened. I get 1 hour on my lunch to get my workout in and I’ve been finding I really like the steam room after. I’m sure it’s because I’m just always so cold all the time now as I blogged about earlier this week in Weight Loss Challenge – Day 112 | It’s Cold Out. I am, however, still hitting my calorie goals.

So even with the limited workouts, I’m confident I’ll still lose some weight this week. This got me thinking. Weight loss really isn’t that complicated for most of us. Yes, there are exceptions to most anything. Those with medical conditions typically must deal with weight loss in an entirely different way. For those of us who realistically don’t have the right to claim we’re different really need to realize, weight loss is not that complicated a matter. Note I didn’t say weight loss isn’t that hard, I said it’s not that complicated.

For the vast majority, weight loss is as simple as calories in, calories out. Do you burn more calories than you consume each day? If so, you’ll likely lose weight.

What makes dieting so hard for people? I cannot answer for everyone, though I’d like to, but for me I don’t like “don’t” diets. These are diets that tell you don’t eat this, don’t eat that.

Don’t eat bacon because of the saturated fat. Don’t eat bread because of the empty carbs. Don’t eat cake because it’s awesome.

Don’t… DON’T… Don’t… DON’T… DON’T!!!!!!!!!! AAAAAGGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!!

Why?

Too often, the why we shouldn’t eat these foods is: “Because it’s unhealthy.” No it’s not. Bacon is not unhealthy. Twelve strips of bacon on an 80/20 burger with giant bun and 1 lb of french fries with a cholocate malt in one meal is unhealthy, but not because it was bacon, hamburger, bread, milk, and sugar. No, it’s because it was the equivalent of 1 to 1.5 days worth of calories your body needs.

If you stick to a 2,000 calorie per day diet, eating whatever kind of food you like, you can lose weight. It’s possible you won’t be healthy, but you will most likely lose weight. It’s possible it may be hard or impossible to keep this up, but you will likely lose weight.

Eating better, “healthier” foods will allow you, more often than not, to curb your cravings to a degree but it won’t eliminate them. Cutting out all comfort foods, will ensure resentment towards healthy food choices. Including the “unhealthy” foods into your regular daily diet can and will help you curb those urges.

How do I know? If you’ve been following my blog (don’t lie, you haven’t been, there are only like 3 people that are reading this regularly) I am doing exactly as I’m preaching. I have not eliminated any foods from my options. Anything can be in my diet. Even candy and ice cream.

I believe there are many key elements to successfully losing weight.

  • Set long term goals
  • Set short term goals
  • Add goals as you go
  • Be accountable to someone
  • Create a plan and change it
  • Plan for failures
  • Plan for successes
  • Don’t be annoying to others

That last one may be tough. What I mean by it is, don’t be the person everyone has to plan the fun stuff around because there’s nothing you can eat on the menu at the local Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizzaria everyone else wants to go to. Suck it up and figure out on your own how you can make it work. If you’re losing weight, and people are never inconvenienced by it, that’s pretty amazing. It’s also very difficult to do, but still, doable.

Finally, I’ll never tell you losing weight is easy. Getting your mind and body to persevere through anything like this is such a challenge. And even worse, you technically never finish. It’s frustrating and it can really mess with your self-esteem at times. Good things don’t typically come easily, so learn to be realistic and accept how hard this will have to be. Never give up. If you failed at lunch, you can always pick up where you left off at dinner.

5 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 115 | It’s Not Complicated

  1. Hey I’ve read pretty much all of your posts concerning your weight loss, I won’t have to lie! I like those key elements of yours. Especially the last one.

    I so fail on that last one every now and then! Well, all the time really, since I can be an insufferable know-it-all 🙂

  2. Losing BODYFAT is extremely non-complicated! I didn’t say “easy”, I said it is simple! How? It is a scientific fact that when you decrease caloric intake and keep activity the same or more then you will lose fat, period! #Thetrainer

  3. I enjoyed your post. Whenever I tried a new diet, I ended up yo-yo dieting. Weight loss has been a struggle for me. Now I’m having trouble binge eating! Anyways, you have some good advice and it’s a great reminder to eat healthy but not to restrict one’s self to foods enjoyed. Thanks for the great read

    • Thanks for stopping by. Yeah, I’ve had my fair share of binge eating. I’m never really sure how long I’ll keep this up. My goal and hope is it will be permanent, but I’m not so diluted to believe just because I’ve lost weight that it’s going to be easy to maintain it. That will be my struggle when get to a point in which weight loss is no longer my goal.

      Good luck with your goals and never let one night if binge eating ruin your goals.

      • Best wishes on your goals! I hope you have fun and enjoy food while trying to reach them 🙂 Sometimes working out and eating healthy are chores for me.

        Thanks for the luck. I will definitely be needing it.

Leave a Reply

