Weight Loss Challenge – Day 118 | Playing Through the Pain


Yesterday was weigh in day again. Let’s see how I did.

Weight Loss this week: 2.2 lbs

Total Weight Loss: 38 lbs

Snap14

That was awesome! The best part is my workouts for the week were not as long as I would have liked. It’s pretty obvious that having a good eating plan is all you really need to consistently lose weight. Workouts are important, but not as critical as eating better.

With all that good news, I have some bad news to talk about as well. One of the primary motivators for losing weight was due to my back problems. I’ve found as my weight goes up, so does the frequency of me throwing out my back. Well, it’s not entirely related to my weight I guess.

Last night was hockey night. Right at the end of warm-ups I took my last shot on the goalie and as I shot… POP!! My back instantly seized and pain shot every direction throughout my lower back and into my legs.

Luckily, it didn’t put me to the ice, so I glided to the bench. For those who have experienced back pain like this, you know that moving in any way can be excruciating. Here’s my dilemma. With me, there were a total of 6 forwards. Three on the ice and three on the bench. If I leave, that means one guy cannot change until one of the first guys on the ice with him is rested. The other dilemma, I know that if I go home, my back is going to stiffen up like a hunk of bread left out overnight. So, I decided I needed to suck it up and play. That’s right, I played through it.

My first test came and I had to get over the boards. For those familiar with hockey, there are 2 doors that you can use to get onto the ice. Usually, you do not use those doors, you simply hop over the boards and onto the ice. Yeah… that was extremely painful. My first shift was one of the more painful shifts I’ve ever endured. Then to top it off, near the end of my shift, someone backed right into me and as I tried to minimize the impact, somehow our skates tangled and I went down… Hard. I got up gingerly and skated to the bench.

The remainder of the game I started getting more confidence back. My back started feeling slightly better each shift, to the point I was comfortable enough to skate at about 75%. This equates to about 10% of what everyone else was playing (I’m not very good even at 100%).

I scored no goals last night (I usually don’t anyway) but I scored big on pride and I think I scored on recovery. Yes, my back still hurts, but I can walk. That’s what’s important. This brings me back losing weight and workouts. The most positive thing I can take from this, is that I don’t need to be working out tons to be able to still lose weight. If I can’t workout this entire week, I can still lose some weight. It may not be a significant amount, but I can still do it.

What do you guys do if/when you injure yourselves? Do you play through it (probably not advised)?

Good luck everyone this week, and be careful.

Leave a Reply

