Weight Loss Challenge – Day 139 | It’s a Privilege


Another week has come and gone. After having gained a small amount of week the week before, I knew I needed to refocus my efforts if I was going to have any chance of a decent weight loss. My eating for the week was actually quite good. I stayed within my calorie goal for the most part and my workouts were about average for what I’ve been accomplishing lately. Here are my results for the week.

Weight Loss this week: 4.4 lbs

Total Weight Loss: 41.8 lbs

Snap2

I have to admit, as I write this, I’m having difficulties allowing myself to post a 4.4 lb weight loss. Considering the week before I had gained 1.6 lbs. So in reality, my weight loss should have been 2.8 lbs, which is still really quite good. I’m keeping it at the 4.4 lbs because I did technically lose that weight, at least according to the scale. The more important number is the overall weight loss which at nearly 42 lbs, I couldn’t be happier. This journey has been just that, a journey. I’ve learned so much about myself and my body and I just want to keep going. I am now at 179.6 lbs and I plan to get down to 170. I’ve never been that low in my life, so we’ll see how that goes.

I had a big eye opener last night. I was going to go workout at my gym after the kids were in bed and my wife reminded me that the gym closes on Sundays at 9:00 pm. It was 8:10 pm. Well that was quite the bummer. Typically I would have been going to my Sunday night hockey game, but that group has completed, so I was thinking the gym was going to be my new thing on Sundays. Now what? That is when my awesome wife reminded me that our employer has 2 gyms. The main gym which is pretty much a country club style gym with all the amenities and comforts of a 5 star resort and they have another gym about a mile away that is open 24 hrs. SWEET!!

If the main gym is the posh gym, the other gym at my work is the REAL gym. You walk into this place and then take a flight of stairs down into what appears to be a pit. The place is relatively dark and there is nobody there but about 3 meat heads and a sketchy looking lady who looks like she hasn’t combed her hair, ever. There is no hot tub, no steam room, no lap pool, no sensory room etc. The free weight area is crowded into this tiny little nook with a couple benches, a smith machine, and a squat rack. The vinyl on some of these benches has seen better days (probably cast offs from the main gym). There are plenty of treadmill, elliptical, and stair machines. Several stationary bikes are huddled in a corner next to the very narrow walking/running track which I cannot imagine anyone ever running on. It takes 15 laps to make a mile with flat corners. There is a single rowing machine, which you’ll miss it if you aren’t specifically looking for it. It works, it’s the same type the main gym has which is great, but the seat is not. It’s this hard composite type seat that is formed like there was a shortage on this composite material. It was small and hard and hurt my bum.

All of this got me thinking about the gyms I’ve been a member of in the past. As I thought about it, I realized very quickly that this secondary gym, this “lower” quality gym I had to go to because the good gym was closed, was still better than most of the other gyms I had been a member of in the past. Not because the space was better, but because the equipment was still quite new and very well maintained. Yeah, a couple of the benches had vinyl that was breaking or broken, but for the most part, everything was still in great condition. All the dumbells matched and were in like new condition. The weights on the weight trees were the exact same as in the good gym. The place was clean. There were tons of clean towels in the locker room ready for me to use. There was hot water. This place was taken care of, which is usually the downfall of the other gyms I’d been a member of. This made me realize just how lucky, how privileged I am to work for the company I work for and that they would have such great facilities for me to use.

Appreciating what you have is a very important thing to me. I had one of the best workouts I’ve had in a long time. I was there for well over 2 hours and I got to do most everything I wanted. In a way, I would like to go to this other gym more often and I will be on Sundays from now on I think. It’s the type of gym that encourages you to workout, whereas the gym with all the frills, encourages you to relax. If only this other gym were right across from my office building. I’d probably be going there everyday.

Leave a Reply

