Weight Loss Challenge – Day 142 | I Just Blew Your Mind


I’ve had the pleasure and opportunity quite a bit lately to have folks compliment me on my weight loss. The conversations typically go like this.

Person: “Wow! You’ve lost a lot of weight.”

Me: “Thank you, I’m down about 40 pounds now.”

Person: “That’s awesome. What are you doing to lose the weight?”

Me: “For the most part, I just eat less.”

Person: <Crickets and a confused look typically… then> “But are you doing like Adkins, or weight watchers or an all fruit diet or something?”

Me: “No, I started with my own version of weight watchers, then switched to just counting my calories. I eat what I want, I just eat less of it.”

Person: “You must be working out a ton too, right?”

Me: “I wish, but I hurt my foot a while ago, so I can’t really workout like I used to. I do workout, but there is no program. I do what I want to either burn calories. It is around 3-5 times a week, but it’s not as intense as it used to be, and I don’t have to workout to still lose weight, that was my goal, to make working out something that can help, but that my weight loss isn’t dependent upon.”

Person: “So are there foods you can’t eat?”

Me: “No, though there are foods I choose not to eat, but nothing is off limits.”

Person: “Then how are you doing it?”

This is where I explain the total daily calories I’m taking in and the added calories I get should I actually workout enough to burn enough calories. By this time, I’m looking at an either dumbstruck or annoyed person. I can understand the confused person, but I cannot understand the annoyed one. Perhaps how I said what I said sounded condescending or arrogant. That’s always possible. I usually give them the benefit of the doubt because I can be a bit of a jerk without even knowing it.

I like the confused person, though, because it always seems like they’re learning for the first time that you can just choose to eat less. Or perhaps they’re just now discovering that you can lose weight without a “program” or something. Or perhaps they’re confused as to why I’m such a jerk. Let’s go with the latter, it’s the only one I can really prove anyway.

3 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 142 | I Just Blew Your Mind

  1. Haha, what??? Just eat less to lose weight? It can’t be!
    I just want to say that I love that you actually know how to spell “lose”. Everyone spells it “loose”! I never have the heart to correct anyone. Good job! 🙂

    • Ha. Yeah. I’m a bit of a grammar snob in my head about others. I hate when people say across’ t instead of across. Namely in speeches it’s really hard to listen to. I only hope i don’t make any other grammar mistakes you can’t stand and loose you as a follower. 😉

Leave a Reply

