Weight Loss Challenge – Day 143 | Losing Steam


It’s been nearly 5 months since starting this weight loss challenge and I’m noticing I’m running out of steam. Don’t let the majority of the positive notes trick you into thinking this has been an easy trip for me. I’m burning out and today more so than most. I know I get like this when our food stores are getting low in the house, but today feels different.

If I’m honest, this week I haven’t been hitting my 1,600 calories per day as planned. No, I’m not blowing my diet each day, but I’ve been taking liberties with some of my measurements and I’ve been putting in about 200-300 more calories per day without a corresponding workout to counter the extra calories. I’m hungry all the time. It’s pretty much all I think about. So, I need to find a motivator to get me through this challenge. The weight goal is not enough, it never really is. I need something else to motivate me. I don’t even think it’s about my appearance changing that will be enough. So, what can I use to motivate myself now to continuing losing so I can get to 170?

I think after this weekend is done, I think it’s time to increase my daily calorie intake to 1,800. That was the original plan and since I’m kindof doing that now anyway, might as well make it official. Perhaps that’ll mean then I’ll just add 200-300 more and be at 2k calories. I could also just start focusing more of my efforts on weight lifting, but the problem with that, is I may actually gain weight when I want to lose. I know, it’s not about the numbers, but when you have a goal like mine, I really would like to see my lowest weight ever. So the numbers are a big deal. It would mean in 34 years, this would be the first time I’ve seen 170 since I was in middle school. That’s pretty huge.

Well, I’ve done plenty of, whatever this was. It’s time for me to pull up my boot straps, slap myself in the face, and buck up and just get on with this challenge. I’m in the last leg, I’ve got 1 mile to go, can’t quit now, so time to tell my brain to shut up and just succeed. Good luck me, you’re gonna need it.

Good luck everyone with your own goals. If I can do it, you can too. Where are you at with your weight loss goals? Are things going well or are you struggling right now like I am?

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 143 | Losing Steam

  1. You can do it! We all hit walls! If you are finding yourself overly hungry, start playing around with different types of food. Maybe you need more healthy fats, more protein or more fiber. Is there a particular time of day you find yourself hungry? Maybe adjusting your eating schedule so you are not hungry then. It’s all about finding good balance. And I’m sure you will find it! Best of luck!

  2. Pingback: Weight Loss Challenge – Day 146 | My Butt Hurts | TechChucker's Brain Blast

Leave a comment