Toy Review: Marvel Select | Ultimate Hulk


It’s Toy Review Tuesday again and this week I’m reviewing the Marvel Select Ultimate Hulk figure. This figure is actually the very first Marvel Select figure by Diamond Select Toys I purchased. It wound up sitting on my shelf all this time in its packaging. I never looked that closely at the figure when I bought it. I wish I had and you’ll find out why. I hate to say it as I love everything about the Hulk, but this figure is so disappointing, it makes my fingers hurt as I angrily type this review.

1-snapshot-172

  • Character: Ultimate Hulk
  • Manufacturer: Diamond Select Toys
  • Series: Marvel Select 
  • Dimensions: 8″
  • Weight: 14.4 oz
  • Recommended: Ages 14+
  • MSRP: $24.95 | Paid: $24.95
  • Part Number/SKU: MAR031852

Articulation – ★☆☆☆☆

Articulation on the Ultimate Hulk figure is atrocious compared to the other Marvel Select figures. I believe the one I purchased was a re-release, which I would have hoped would have had a slightly higher quality not lower quality than the original. I have no idea what the original was like, but this one was horrible.

Total POA’s = 13

  • Arms – There are 3 POA’s on each of Hulk’s arms. There isn’t a lot of positive words I can find. I cannot believe there are no elbow joints.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint with full 360 rotation capability as well as outward motion.
    • Upper Arm: Peg joint allows for full 360 degree rotation.
    • Wrist: Peg Joint allows for 360 degree twist of the hand.
  • Legs – There are 3 joints in each leg/hip/ankle area. Similar to the arms, there are no knee joints. REALLY? No knee joints?
    • Hips: Peg Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge joint. This is the only highlight on this figure and it’s a real stretch to call this a highlight. It is adequate to allow Hulk to stand. This gets cancelled out, however, because if you move Hulk’s legs backward too far, they bind in his butt and some of the plastic is then easily cracked.
    • Ankles: Pin/Hinge Joints that allow for about 30 degrees of rotation of the foot forward and back, there is also just a little bit of tilt capability of the foot to allow the foot to remain flat on the floor in different positions. This is almost unnecessary considering the figure really can’t be put into that many poses because of the lack of POA’s.
  • Body: There are no joints in the torso.
  • Head: Pin/Hinge joint in the neck. This means Hulk can look to his left and right and that is all. This motion is also very limited.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★☆☆☆

The mold of this figure is only slightly better than that of the articulation. At a glance, Hulk looks decent enough. The sculpt isn’t that bad. There is good detail, it actually looks like Hulk which is good. For a limited articulation figure, he’s closer to a statue and he doesn’t look too bad. The problem is the materials used. Cheap and brittle plastic was used. You can easily see the seams on his legs, arms, and torso. As noted above, the way the figures back side was molded, it impedes the motion of his legs and with the cheap plastic, you’re going to wind up chipping the plastic, but who poses their figures butt side out right?

The biggest positive is the mold of the head and face. This looks very well done. No complaints there.

Paint – ★★★☆☆

The paint isn’t too bad, though it really just looks like it’s wearing off. It gives a decent enough look, though I wouldn’t have minded a little better paint on the pants/shorts. Otherwise, I don’t have a lot to say about the paint on this figure.

Accessories – ★☆☆☆☆

Ultimate Hulk comes with pretty much zero accessories. Aside from a cheap cardboard background that a lot of the re-released figures are coming with. These stupid cards are just that, stupid.

Packaging – ★★★☆☆

Ultimate Hulk comes in the standard Marvel Select blister packaging with the information card backing. I’m not a huge fan of this packaging as you must tear the plastic from the cardboard which can cause a lot of damage to the cardboard. The unfortunate part is that the packaging is the highlight of this figure.

Overall Rating – ★★☆☆☆

Overall, I gave Ultimate Hulk 2 of 5 stars. Disappointment doesn’t even begin to explain my feelings toward this figure. The worst part is he was my first purchase. I didn’t unbox him until yesterday, only because I needed space on my shelf. I wish I would have left him in the box. Had he stayed in the box I wouldn’t have seen all those cheap “features.” I keep asking myself if this was Diamond Selects’ attempt at an action figure or something. It seems like the quality I would have gotten from a late 80’s action figure.

If you’re on a budget like I am, pass on this figure. Get one of the other Hulk figures. This one is not good.

Do you have any of these figures? If so, do you have a review to share? Please share in the comments or link to your review.

Leave a Reply

