Weight Loss Challenge – Day 147 | Fruit Doesn’t Count


1-20150317_100153

About 2 weeks ago I decided to stop tracking my fruit consumption. I did this because I found I was opting to not eat fruits because they were taking too many of my daily calories. Dumb. Very dumb. So I decided to just make fruits free so I don’t feel like I need to budget my calories around an apple. Yeah, it makes my nutrition journal for each day inaccurate since I’m not recording all the nutrients I’m getting from my fruits. I don’t eat that many fruits as it is so it’s not making a huge difference in terms of the numbers, but it was affecting my actual consumption. I don’t know if this has been a good idea or not, but I at least don’t have to make a decision between an apple and something else. Now I get to eat both and that makes me happy and that helps me stay on track with the rest of my weight loss challenge.

I’ve been doing this same thing with my vegetables as well. It’s pretty rare that I count any veggies. This way I don’t have to make a decision if I can afford to eat a bag of carrots. Of course I can, now I don’t have to even think about it.

6 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 147 | Fruit Doesn’t Count

  1. I think it’s a good idea to have them as ‘free’ in the kcal counts. As long as it stays as the occasional apple and such, instead of 20 apples and bananas 😉

    So all in moderation! It only makes sense to have them as free too… I mean, in the end, how many normal people do you know that go “Oh man, not sure if I should have this delicious fresh apple… I mean it’s like 50-75 kcal… that’s a lot…” – I’d almost be willing to bet there are no normal people that would have that dialogue in their minds, they’d just eat the apple, and so should you! 🙂

      • Exactly, that I did, aren’t I sweet? 🙂 It’s not a bad thing in any single way, but it’s a good realization to have, to realize your own habits, your thoughts, the things you do on a daily basis and ask yourself “Is this truly how I want to live my life?”

        Nothing wrong with the paths we choose and I’m not saying they should change, but it’s food for thought in any case – to get to know yourself better and asking why are we the way we are, once the answers are found, the change will be permanent and very easy to maintain 🙂

        For me the focus of my own journey has mainly been about becoming normal, just another normal human being that doesn’t have to count everything he eats, or think if he should or should not. Just to fix those patterns to be… normal and healthy, allowing them to take me where they may. I’ve never had it before in my entire life…

        And I must say… now that I am at the point where I am. It’s wonderful. No stress, no hardships, no second thoughts or restrictions, just … living – like a normal human being would and slowly but surely, my body is morphing itself to showcase that as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

