Weight Loss Challenge – Day 180 | The Grand Finale!


It has been 180 days since the Weight Loss Challenge – Day 1 began on October 22nd, 2014. A lot has happened in 180 days. Here’s what my original goal was.

My goal is to lose 30 pounds within 6 months from now. That means by April, I should have lost my weight.

~Me (180 days ago)

The biggest question is, did I make my goal? Let’s have a look and see.

Starting Weight = 221.4 lbs

Weight Today = 174.6 lbs

Total Weight Loss = 46.8 lbs

Snap10

As you can see I met my goal, by a lot. I actually met my goal 90 days ago Weight Loss Challenge – Day 90 | 190 @ 90. I was pretty excited then, but I knew I wasn’t going to double my weight loss and be down 60 lbs by 180 days. That wasn’t the goal. What was my modified goal at 90 days you ask?

In the next 90 days, my goal is to lose another 15 lbs. I’d like to get to my “Wedding Day” weight. Not sure why I put that in quotation marks. It really is what I weighed on my wedding day.

~Me (90 days ago)

 What do you know… I made that goal too. That one was a little closer call. There were some pretty shady weeks recently and I definitely appreciate all the support from my WordPress friends.

Before and After

Left to Right. Day 1, Day 90, Day 180

Before and After Left to Right. Day 1 Day 90 Day 180

I’ve lost a bunch of weight. I’m looking and feeling great (well, maybe not great, but better at least). Now what do I do? Where do I go from here? I’ve been thinking about this for quite some time now. Here are the three options I’m toying with.

  • Extend the Weight Loss Challenge to get to 165 lbs
  • Start a Weight Maintenance Challenge for 180 days
  • Start a No Pain, No Gain Weight Lifting Body Transformation Challenge

That last one probably needs some explanation. I really enjoy lifting weights. I’ve incorporated a little bit in my workouts lately and I’m really liking how my body has been responding. I’ve always wanted to see if I could get a six pack or at least not a single barrel would be nice. So the No Pain, No Gain is really referring to a change in my lifting so the focus is truly on getting ripped. I don’t ever really want to be so ripped like say The Terminator, but it would be interesting to see just how much muscle definition I could achieve. This doesn’t mean, however, that cardio is thrown out. It would just mean that I would do a more well rounded weight lifting routine (full body) with the goal of increasing the weight lifted, as well as doing body measurements to determine progress.

Anyway, those are the 3 main ideas I’ve got right now, but I can’t just leave you guys out of this. What are your thoughts? I’ve already gotten some feedback on ideas going forward, but I don’t mind getting the same ideas again. Tomorrow, I’ll announce my plan, so get your opinions in now, before it’s too late and I do something stupid.

Stay tuned for parts 2 and 3 of my Weight Loss Challenge Finale. Or don’t, it’s ok, I understand, you’re busy. No worries.

12 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 180 | The Grand Finale!

  1. Lifting weights is always a great idea. If you haven’t tried interval cardio I’d give that a shot. You do 30 seconds as fast as you can and then 60-90 seconds rest. The cardio you choose is up to you…. Sprint, running in place, burpees, jump rope, etc. Do 6-12 of those and cardio is done! Best wishes to you!

    • I’ve not thought of that. I can’t do any of the running or jump rope because of a foot injury, but changing up the weight lifting into a cardio lift is an intriguing idea. Thanks.

      • I have to change up what I do and it’s been transforming. You can try doing intervals on a recumbent bike. This works on anything you can go fast to. Basically you are racing your heart and bringing it back down and doing it again for ten sets. You can literally finish cardio in 20 minutes and get better results than going on a treadmill for an hour. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weight Loss Challenge – Day 180 | Learn You Will | TechChucker's Brain Blast

    • Thank you so much. You and so many others have been such an inspiration to me. Also, you’ve kept me honest and given me accountability. It would have been so much harder to get to this point had I not had folks such as yourself reading my stories.

      #3 scares me to a certain degree, but also is very appealing to me as well.

      Oh, I suppose I can share my first name too. It’s Matt. I always think it odd to have to write someone’s screen name in comments, but when I first created the account, I wanted to stay completely anonymous. Probably not as important anymore.

      • I am so glad that we are encouraging and helpful to you Matt. It has been so fun following along on your journey!
        I love lifting so that’s why I said 3 but any of those options will be interesting to read about. Looking forward to it!
        Oh and I’m Angela. I think you probably knew that though. 🙂

      • I like weight lifting too. My time is usually so little that I have had to choose between lifting and cardio, and since I’ve been trying to lose weight, cardio usually wins. That will likely change a bit.

        It’s nice to formally meet you Angela. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weight Loss Challenge – Day 180 | How’d you do that? | TechChucker's Brain Blast

  4. Very nice job Mr. Wayne. You’ve made it to the end of a road only to find yourself at the start of another, and probably happy about it – life would be boring if we had nothing to do in it after all.

    Sixpacks are made in the kitchen, not in the gym so if that’s your goal, just drop enough weight and you’ll see a sixpack – they’re not really the healthiest thing in the world to have though, there are always side-effects to becoming that lean.

    You won’t become Terminator size/definition no matter what you would do, your muscles will not grow that fast without some… hmm… “extracurriculars”, it will take you around …. 6-8 years of lifting and eating right to reach your genetic maximum, give or take a few years depending on your genes.

    So there in lies the rub, my friend. You have to look into the mirror and ask yourself what do you want to do, and what do you want to see and I’m sure once those questions have been asked the answers are obvious for you, as to what you will choose. No matter what it will be.

    Personally, for me, I’d focus on feeling good, enjoying life with family – lifting, becoming stronger, staying healthy and not focusing on vanity, it all will fall into place on its own with that, in time. You’ve been on a pretty grueling diet plan with very low to moderately low kcal intake. The change to doing actual hypertrophy focused lifting will be a colossal one when it comes to eating, if you want the most out of it after all (and you seem like the type that likes efficiency). The body needs fuel to grow – this is something to go through with a professional if you do start any body changing challenges concerning muscle building.

    The hit to the mental side with hypertrophy lifting will be iffy as well, when you see that scale start climbing back up. It can be rationalized of course, but it’s something to prepare yourself for as well.

    Congrats again and I’m looking forward to seeing where you will end up in the future!

    • All good recommendations. Yeah, the six pack is a silly dream that doesn’t really serve me any purpose. It’s fun to think about, but not very realistic as I don’t feel the need to get to like 1% body fat. I’ve decided I’m going to lose 5 more lbs and then do a weight lifting/Maintenance challenge. I’ve got some specifics I posted about today, but I’ve also got about 30 days until I start that to determine all the details. It will not be a body building challenge, though.

      I’m hoping all is going well for you sir. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

