Weight Loss Challenge – Day 182 | Hard Workouts


I’ve gone to the gym every day this week so far. On paper, or at least according to my check in status at the gym, I’m doing great. Except, my workouts have consisted of sitting in the hot tub for about 30 minutes and then a 10 minute steam room visit. Ha ha… no, I’m not working out right now. Here and I just finished this grueling 180 day weight loss challenge and then decided to extend it 30 days and I’m sitting in the hot tub instead of working out! Who does that?

I do!

Here’s the deal. I’m still on target with my eating goals. I just finished the initial challenge and my body is so sore. If you’ve read some of my past posts, you’ll know I’ve been fighting Plantar Faciitis. It’s been flaring up pretty bad lately so the hot tub has been an attempt to massage the knots in my hips, quads, IT Band, calves, shins, and feet. My right leg is so tight and so full of knots it’s simply ridiculous. Luckily, the jets in the hot tub at my gym are set to sand blast power. It literally feels like your skin could be impaled by the water at any moment. It’s great for really getting in there deep into those knots.

When I’m at home, I’m using “The Stick” standardbodystick[1]to continue my massaging of these knots. Holy CRAP it hurts so bad sometimes! I’m just hoping this will help a little bit. In the end, I know I need to schedule an appointment with our sports medicine department to get an official analysis of where my injury is since the last time I was in and determine what professionals recommend. I hate going to the doctor, so just scheduling something is hard for me to do. It’s not that I’m scared or anything, it’s more of an inconvenience. Heaven forbid I be inconvenienced with a potential cure right? 🙂

Needless to say, my “workouts” this week have not been anything really, but I do still walk out of the gym entirely spent of all energy.

Oh, so I forgot, I’m also now soaking my foot in an Epsom salt bath nightly, though I think my issues are much bigger than a simple salt bath can help with, but it can’t hurt right?

Alright people, don’t expect too high of a weight loss this week from me (because I’m not) though I don’t doubt I could still have a small loss as long as my eating stays on target. Have a great day everyone.

Question: Have any of you dealt with severe Plantar Faciitis, and what did you do to overcome it?

4 thoughts on “Weight Loss Challenge – Day 182 | Hard Workouts

  1. It always feels so weird “liking” a post that the topic is about something bad like pain. 😦
    I have thankfully never dealt with anything like plantar faciitis. The worst it has gotten for me is severe nerve pain which oddly enough only didn’t heard when I was working out. I commend you for still working out some things at the gym. Do the flare ups last a long time? I hope not! Hope you are better soon Matt!

    • My foot hurts pretty much all the time, so a flair up to me means now it’s nearly unbearable pain. I can still bear it, but it’s getting much harder to. Pretty much anything aggravates it. Walking, running, biking, the elliptical, etc. The only 2 things that haven’t really caused more pain are rowing and hockey.

      • Standard methods are 1. Rest, 2. Stretching, 3. Massage, 4. Cortisone Shots, 5. Surgery. I’ve done all but 5 and haven’t seen much for progress. I really don’t want to do surgery though so I’m going back to try all the first 1-3 again, but much more aggressively.

        The new weight lifting challenge will help as I’ll feel less guilty about not doing the cardio since my goal won’t be weight loss specifically.

Leave a Reply

