Weight Loss Challenge – Day 223 | Have I Met My Match


It’s been 11 days since I last posted for the challenge. A lot has happened since the last post, and most of it, hasn’t been awesome. Here’s the run down of excuses. 🙂

  • My wife has fibromyalgia and has had a really bad case of it for the last 2 weeks. When this happens, it’s like I become a single dad. And not one of those Daddy Daycare kind of single dads. I’m talking the frazzled, just trying to keep my head above water kind. It’s not that I can’t handle my kids. It’s not that I can’t handle my work. But handling both at the same time, as well as being stressed about your wife maybe needing to go into the ER (we’ve thought for a while she had kidney stones), that starts getting to you.
  • Add to the first bullet, we’ve been having server issues at work. I’m on a team of two who manage SharePoint for a decent size hospital. We probably have 15k-30k users online each day in our environment, so it’s not small. We have locations on the East Coast, West Coast, and the Midwest. That means, in order to work on the system, we have to schedule it after hours for all of our locations. That means I don’t get to start my work until about 8:00pm my time (CST). I said we are a team of 2, but I’m technically the only “technical” person on the team, so that means I’m it. Yippee! Anyway, after several nights working till 3am, we’re at least at a point where I’m pretty confident we can fix the problem. The good thing is, the problem never really has caused an outage, but the work I have to do to fix it does.
  • I’ve been sick the last 1 1/2 weeks or so. Not great when you’re relied upon for so much. Yeah yeah, I know there are plenty of people out there that have it worse than me, remember, this is a list of excuses, not valid reasons for my not keep up with my challenge. ;-). Anyway, it always seems that when my wife has a flare up as we call them, I wind up getting sick around that time too. I don’t remember the last time I got to just “be sick” and be taken care of.
  • Finally, it’s the end of the school year. That means, my two school age daughters have events during the day, that need to be attended. That’s right, so now I need to figure out which events I can and can’t go to. Yup, track and field, was a no go this year. Luckily, it rained so I dodged that one (the kids weren’t so lucky).

Ok, now that you’ve seen all my excuses, let’s just take a look at how bad I’ve done. In reality, it’s not so bad. I’d say I’ve done pretty darn well, considering.

Weight Loss this week: +1.2 lbs

Total Weight Loss: 46.2 lbs

Snap1

Not too bad, considering. The eating right, or at least eating better, has been pretty easy, though I will admit, I’ve been sneaking little bits here and there a lot more often. Those little sneaks usually don’t get recorded very accurately. In the end though, I’d say, I’ve been in a relatively solid “maintenance” pattern. The problem is I didn’t want to be in a maintenance pattern just yet.

After the last 2 weeks, I’ve really been wondering if I should just be done with this challenge. Getting down to 170 lbs really isn’t a need, it’s more of a want. I do want to start up the new challenge soon, though I honestly haven’t put any thought into that yet either. At this point, I’m not even going to the gym. I’m so tired all the time.

I’ll keep posting, and I’ll keep eating better. We’ll just have to see what happens from here.

Have a great week everyone.

Leave a Reply

