Day 16 Workout


I made it back to the gym today. I gotta be honest, I wasn’t feeling it. I had other things (work) on my mind that I really wanted to get back to, so I sort of halfed this one a little. In some ways I guess, in others I didn’t.

I read a couple articles today that indicated reducing the number of reps in your sets can help increase the overall weight you lift and faster. So I tried by reducing my number from 12 to 8 for my 2nd and 3rd sets. The only lift I really noticed a difference was my bench press. That one I felt I had a lot more confidence and strength for my 3rd set and was able to add 20 lbs more than I have done thus far. That’s good.

Here’s my workout for the day.

  • Curl Bar (Sitting)
    • 12 @ 45 lbs
    • 8 @ 65 lbs
    • 6 @ 75 lbs
  • Curl Bar (Standing)
    • 12 @ 55 lbs
    • 8 @ 65 lbs
    • 4 @ 75 lbs
  • Bench Press
    • 12 @ 95 lbs (25’s)
    • 8 @ 135 lbs (45’s)
    • 5 @ 155 lbs (45’s & 10’s)
  • Triceps (Dumbell)
    • 12 @ 40 lbs
    • 8 @ 50 lbs
    • 5 @ 50 lbs
  • Arm Saw
    • 12 @ 30 lbs Right
    • 12 @ 30 lbs Left
    • 12 @ 35 lbs Right
    • 12 @ 35 lbs Left
  • Perfect Push Up
    • 20
    • 15
    • 15
  • Rotator (Crossover Cables)
    • 6 @ 10 lbs (Left)
    • 6 @ 10 lbs (Right)
    • 6 @ 12.5 lbs (Left)
    • 6 @ 12.5 lbs (Right)
    • 6 @ 15 lbs (Left)
    • 6 @ 15 lbs (Right)
  • Shoulder Press (Crossover Cables)
    • 8 @ 17.5 lbs (Each Arm)
    • 8 @ 20 lbs (Each Arm)
    • 8 @ 22.5 lbs (Each Arm)
  • Incline Press
    • 12 @ 65 (10’s)
    • 6 @ 95 (25’s)
3 thoughts on “Day 16 Workout

  1. If you’re not already: make sure that you go the compound motions first (Bench, in this case). They allow you to move the largest weight, and that is because they utilize the most muscles at once. Since the objective is to lift MORE weight when possible, exhausting supportive muscles, such as Triceps for example, before benching, will make it so you get less out of the compound movement.

    Assistance movements don’t need to be as high weight, and if you lift heavy for your compound, probably shouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

