MainPain Challenge – Day 30 | Chiropractor Scheduled


It seems every other day, my back will feel like I’m over the hump and getting better, then the very next day, my back just hurts like you wouldn’t believe. I don’t think I’m doing anything different on those good days. I’m still icing and heating my back. Still taking my meds (I’m down to just Tylenol and Ibuprofen) and I’m still wearing my back brace.

Since I’m having these swings back and forth, I’ve finally succumbed to my wife’s continued efforts to convince me to go to the chiropractor. I hate going to the chiro. It’s not that I don’t think it helps, well, actually, if I’m being honest, I’m skeptical. I know I’m going to take some heat for this, but I look at chiropractic as being similar to medicine. It’s not a cure, it’s simply managing symptoms. I’ll say that loosely, because I do think medicine is often much more damaging than say an adjustment. I’m also not basing it on any scientific proof and some of this is my own ignorance and probably laziness in scheduling an appointment, yadda yadda yadda.

Skepticism aside, I’ve got an appointment for tomorrow morning. Perhaps they’ll tell me something that will help that I haven’t already been doing to expedite my recovery.

As far as the challenge goes, I’m working now on the Maintain part of the challenge rather than the Weight Lifting portion. Yesterday was my first day back tracking my food. It went great. I set my daily calorie intake goal back down to 1,800 and managed to end the day at 1,772 total. I even had 139 exercise/activity calories I could have eaten if I wanted, though I didn’t feel like eating anything more. That’s a huge success.

Today I’m on target with my breakfast and lunch should be pretty easy. We’re having dinner with friends tonight, so that may pose a bit of a test for my will power. We’ll see.

That’s what I’ve got so far. Things are looking good diet wise, but are pretty lame on the fitness side of things. Oh well right? I guess I just gotta keep on keepin’ on. Have a great Tuesday everyone.

Leave a Reply

