Toy Review: Marvel Legends | Rocket Raccoon


This month I’m reviewing the Marvel Legends Infinite Series Guardians of the Galaxy Rocket Raccoon. I honestly had no intention of ever buying this figure, but then I decided I really wanted the Groot BAF, so I had to pony up and get this little figure. Let’s take a look at how disappointing he really is.

snapshot-040

Articulation – ★★

Everybody says the articulation on this figure is abysmal, and I have to agree, to a degree. I can’t take all of his stars away, because there are a couple things I actually don’t mind on this figure.

Total POA’s = 13

  • Arms – There are 5 joints per arm. That’s right, 77% of all articulation is in Rockets arms.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge joint. They actually executed the shoulder joints quite well, especially for such a small figure. He can’t raise his arm up in the air very high due to the sculpt of his molded backpack straps, but it’s still pretty good.
    • Elbow: Peg Joint just above the Pin/Hinge joint in the elbow. This is very important if you’re going to try to get Rocket to hold his gun. Which you’re going to want to do because he does look pretty cool holding it.
    • Wrist: Peg Joint that allows for full 360 degree turn.
  • Body – A single waist swivel using a what I believe to be a single ball joint allows for full 360 degree turn. It also allows you to have just a little tilt, unless you pull (ever so gently) the two body pieces apart a bit to create a little more room, then you can get a little more lean and tilt capabilities.
  • Head: Ball joint in the neck allows for only side to side motion. No tilt or up and down action. You can try pulling the head away from the body a little, and that’ll give you just a little extra downward motion.
  • Tail: Peg Joint gives you a full 360 degree rotation of the tail, though his feet are so poorly molded, you’re going to need his tail in the down position all the time so he can use it to balance.

You are not mistaken, there are zero leg, hip, and ankle joints on this figure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★★☆☆

I wish I had a half star character, because I really think the mold isn’t the worst in the world, but it doesn’t deserve 4 stars. The body to me, is pretty nice looking. There’s lots of nice detail in the flight suit he’s wearing and the fur detail work they did is really nice.

The face could have used a lot of work. In the movie, Rocket is a snarky little ball of fur. He’s very expressive in the movie, and yet, the face sculpt is really boring. He’s not smiling, smirking, growling, or anything. They could have even made him look smug and that would have helped. Instead, he’s just got a blank animal like stare. I bet Hasbro pulled the head off some “Wildlife Creatures” line of toys and said, “Hey, here’s a raccoon, let’s cut his head off and see if we can use it for Rocket Raccoon.” And they did! Yeah, the head looks like a real life raccoon.

Moving on, I think the lower body is decent, though articulation would have been nice. The feet, are horrible. They aren’t even flat. I think they didn’t even try to pose this figure when they designed it.

Paint – ★★★★☆

Paint work on the figure is actually pretty good. It’s clean, and looks nice. I would have liked to see a little more shading of some sort (I’m no paint expert). My favorite part is the backpack. This was painted very well and looks really good.

Accessories – ★★★☆☆

When you have a cruddy figure like this Rocket Raccoon, you gotta salvage the piece with accessories. The problem is they only made it half-way. They gave Rocket a pretty cool gun that I’ve not seen before. It’s a goldish color and has some really nice mold detail. The paint/color on the gun is pretty bland. It’s all one color. Some definition colors to make the thing look a little more realistic would have been nice.

The other accessory we got with Rocket, is something not even for him. I have no idea what this weapon is called, but it’s pretty cool. It’s pretty much the same size (or bigger) than Rocket himself and it is for Star-Lord, whom I’ve already reviewed. Take a look at the picture below to see it in action. This is by far the coolest part of this whole package minus the BAF Upper torso and Head of Groot you get.

snapshot-119

Packaging – ★★★★☆

Rocket comes in the standard Marvel Legends Infinite Series packaging which I really like.

Overall Rating – ★★★☆☆

Overall, I should have given Rocket a 2.5 star rating, but again, I don’t have half star characters. I’m going to have to find something that’ll work for that. Anyway, this figure is definately one you should pass on unless you really want the Groot BAF or you really really like Rocket Raccoon and you want all the figures ever made of him. Or buy him because you want the super cool weapon for your Star-Lord figure, though I’m sure you could find all of those things on Ebay too. Overall, I’m satisfied with the figure, but only because I watched and read a lot of reviews on the figure before I bought it, so I knew exactly what I was getting myself into. That’s the problem with doing the Build-A-Figures. You’re gonna have to get one or two figures you’re not so keen on it appears, in order to get the cool figure. Anyway, I hope this was helpful.

Do you have any of these figures? If so, do you have a review to share? Please share in the comments or link to your review.

Leave a Reply

