Comic Review: Detective Comics, Vol. 6: Icarus


Detective Comics, Vol. 6: Icarus
Detective Comics, Vol. 6: Icarus by Francis Manapul

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I love everything Batman and was so excited when I received my copy via the GoodReads First Reads giveaway. The best part is this book is signed by Brian Buccellato which makes this my first ever signed comic.

If I’m being honest, I’ve not had a chance to read the first 5 volumes of this series, so I’m not completely sure what has happened in the story to get to this point. My review will obviously be skewed a bit because of this.

As far as the story goes, not a whole lot happened. Not of a lot of consequence at least. I wasn’t excited to see what was going to happen next. There wasn’t a lot of suspense or intrigue in my opinion. It felt a bit mundane. I know that sounds pretty negative and that was a big reason I only gave the book 3 of 5 stars. It’s an easy, quick read which was ok, just not as much substance as I would have liked. There again, it could be because I haven’t read the rest of the series.

The artwork was good, but not my style. I prefer a little crisper art. There are times it’s difficult to see what is truly happening in a frame. I prefer more distinguished colors which just aren’t in this book. This is still art, and I appreciate it very much. I liked it a lot, it simply isn’t my preferred style.

Based on this volume, I don’t know that I’ll run to my comic book shop to buy the first 5 to see what happened, though I’ll probably check them out at my local library if they have them as I noted at the start, I love everything Batman.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

