Toy Review: Marvel Legends | Black Widow


Today’s review is the Marvel Legends Infinite Series Captain America The Winter Soldier Black Widow. I honestly didn’t really want to have to buy this figure because of the price. I’m late to the action figure collecting game so this series has since passed it’s prime for retail. There are still several figures from this wave available at Target and Walmart and other retailers, but the Black Widow figure sadly has not been. I found mine used on Ebay for more than I would have liked to have spent, but less than some have been paying.

snapshot-210

Figures in the Series

Figure Details

Articulation – ★★★☆☆

I don’t have very many female action figures, but those I do have, don’t have very good articulation. My count now stands at 3 with the addition of Black Widow (Check out my previous reviews of Harley Quinn & Gamora). This figure is the best of the 3 thus far. Let’s take a closer look.

Total POA’s = 24

  • Arms – There are 5 joints per arm.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge Joint that allows for a decent amount of movement back and forth, as well as out. These joints are actually quite good on this figure and there are no impediments caused by the mold.
    • Elbow: A single Pin/Hinge joint as well as a Peg Joint at the top of the elbow. These joints work well together to allow for a 90 degree bend and the twist of the arm is much welcomed.
    • Wrist: Peg Joint as well but NO Pin/Hinge joint which is very disappointing. I know her hands are quite small, so that’s likely the reason for the missing joint, but I would have liked something there.
  • Legs – There are 6 joints in each leg/hip/ankle area.
    • Hips: Ball Joint allows a decent amount of forward motion, but pretty much no backward motion. The outward motion is decent though but for a female figure I would have hoped for more since the female superheros tend to be more flexible.
    • Thigh: Peg Joint which is a standard cut joint. This joint, like many other figures with similar legs can be a little awkward looking depending on how the mold of the two leg pieces meets. Not a huge issue though.
    • Knees: Double Pin/Hinge joints in the knees allows for nearly an entire bend in the knee, which allows Widow to kick her own butt.
    • Ankles: Each ankle has 2 joints. Pin/Hinge Joints that allow for decent backward motion but the forward motion is really good on this figure. There is no ankle rocker, but there is a Peg joint that you can use to turn the foot and get a fake rocker effect.
  • Body – There is one joint in the body area. I believe this is a double ball joint in the torso just below the breast line of the figure. It’s very well hidden, but not real effective aside from twisting the figure which probably should have been a waist joint instead. You can get a little bit of an ab crunch but it’s nearly nothing.
  • Head: A single Ball Joint allows for decent forward motion of the head but due to the sculpt of the hair on both heads, you’re not going to get Widow looking up. Side to side is decent with the curly hair but with the straight hair head you can’t move her head much at all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★★★☆

I like the sculpt of this figure. It’s not overly voluptuous and doesn’t show too much inappropriate skin which I really appreciate. The detailing on her is really well done. My favorite is the texture of her outfit as well as the hair sculpt. The details are really well done.

The couple complaints I have are that the hair was such a hard plastic that it’s harder to really get any articulation in the head because of it, but the likeness of Scarlet Johansen is spot on on both heads. The other gripe I have, and many others have had the same is the molded guns. It sure would have been nice to have gotten a gun she could have held in her gripping hands instead of the guns that are far too small and molded into the holsters.

Aside from those two things, I’m pretty happy with the figure. Hence the 4 stars.

Paint – ★★★★

Paint application was just as good as the mold in my opinion. It’s clean and they got a lot of the detailed mold parts accented with some paint such as the front zipper and buckle as well as the bullet wrist bracelet. I would have loved to see them pain the buckles on the molded boot straps and zippers too, which is something I think really would have made this figure stand out even more. I don’t know why they didn’t do this.

Accessories – ★★★☆☆

Black Widow comes with two sets of hands. A gripping hand for each side (which would have been great if we got some guns or batons) and some open hands for each side, which I’m still not sure what these will be good for. I guess just an at rest pose.

The BAF piece that Black Widow comes with is the torso piece of the Mandroid figure. I’m guessing this is why this figure has been harder to find as there are tons of arms and legs but not nearly as many torsos available.

Packaging – ★★★★☆

Standard Marvel Legends Infinite Series packaging which is great.

Overall Rating – ★★★★☆

Overall I’m rating this figure at 4 of 5 stars. It really should be about a 3.5, but I felt it was closer to 4 than 3 so that’s how I’m rounding it. I’m really excited to get the rest of this series so I can build my Mandroid, which is the only reason I bought this figure. As I already noted, this is the best female figure I own to date, but unless you’re a huge Black Widow fan, or need the Mandroid torso, this really isn’t a figure I think you absolutely need to have.

Do you have any of these figures? If so, do you have a review to share? Please share in the comments or link to your review.

Leave a Reply

