Toy Review: Marvel Legends | Captain Marvel


Today’s review is the Marvel Legends Infinite Series The Allfather series Captain Marvel figure. Captain Marvel (the Carol Danvers version) is my absolute favorite female superhero right now. She’s up there on my all time favorite story arcs to read too so when I was able to pick this figure up at my local Walmart, I was so excited. It’s not a rare figure, but I didn’t really want to pay full price so getting her $4 off was nice.

snapshot-369

Figures in the Series

Figure Details

Articulation – ★★★

I now have a total of 4 female action figures in my collection (Check out my previous reviews of Harley QuinnGamora, and Black Widow). Articulation wise, I’d have to say this figure isn’t the best, only because it’s still hard to get her to stand on her own.

Total POA’s = 28

  • Arms – There are 7 joints per arm.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge Joint allowing a really good amount of upward motion of the shoulder.
    • Bicep: Peg Joint just below the shoulder seems a little flimsy, but is sculpted very nicely.
    • Elbow: A single Pin/Hinge joint as well as a Peg Joint just above the elbow joint. Even though a double Pin/Hinge would have been ideal for her elbows, the peg joint is nice. Unfortunately, her elbow really only bends about 90 degrees which is pretty limiting for a female figure.
    • Wrist: Peg Joint and a Pin/Hinge joint. There’s a good range of motion in the wrists.
  • Legs – There are 6 joints in each leg/hip/ankle area.
    • Hips: Ball Joint gives a good amount of forward and pretty decent forward action as well. Outward motion very limiting. I would have liked to be able to get more flexibility here.
    • Thigh: Peg Joint which is a standard cut joint. Since there really is no paint app in the thigh/leg area here this cut joint doesn’t look too bad when used.
    • Knees: Double Pin/Hinge joints in the knees allows for an entire bend in the knee. She could kick her own butt, except her calf muscle does prevent this.
    • Ankles: Each ankle has 2 joints. Pin/Hinge Joints that allow for an amazing amount of backward motion but the forward motion is not very good. It is hindered as most of the Marvel Legends figures are by the sculpt of the leg where the ankle meets the leg. I believe trimming just a little off would drastically help. The ankle rocker is decent, but not that awesome.
  • Body – There is one joint in the body area. I believe this is a double ball joint in the torso just below the breast line of the figure. It’s very well hidden and a little more effective than some of the other female figures I’ve reviewed, but still not that great. She can crunch a little and lean back just a little more.
  • Head: A single Ball Joint allows for decent forward motion of the head but she can’t look up much with either head we are given. Side to side is good with both heads and there’s just a little bit of tilt.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★★★☆

There isn’t a lot I don’t like about the sculpt they did on this figure. There’s good detail work on this figure. The only issues I have, which are minor, are on the sash she is wearing which is far too hard of a plastic material. This makes posing her a little awkward as this piece doesn’t conform to the new position of her body. You also can’t really put her in poses where her upper body might be a little lower than her hips as this piece will slide up. You’d need some sort of tacky something to hold it into position.

I would have liked a molded boot seam rather than a painted on. That would have made the figure feel just a little higher quality. Other than those couple items, this figure is really cool.

Paint – ★★★★

Even though the pain app is quite simple, I still like it a lot. First, it follows the character look in the comic series I’ve really been digging which is awesome. Primary colors aren’t bad when they are executed well and I think they’ve done so on this figure. The one place you really hope for some good detail is in the head/face, and they really nailed it. There’s some shading and good crisp lines.

I’ve flipped through several boxes of this figure in the past and the paint application does have a higher rate of quality control than some of the other figures Hasbro has been putting out lately. The issues aren’t the worst, but there are areas where you’ll get a spot of yellow hanging out in odd places in the blue and then the red can sometimes be a little thin in places. It’s not the worst thing in the world though.

Accessories – ★★★★☆

Captain Marvel comes with an alternate unmasked head and a purple/pink pliable cosmic blast thing that can go on her fist. I really like the sculpt and paint of both heads we get and the cosmic blast is pretty cool. I believe that the blast has been reused from the Jubilee BAF figure. I don’t mind that, but the color should have been a fire color rather than the purple color. The translucence of the blast is pretty cool though.

She also comes with the King Thor head his axe and his cape. If I ever complete this BAF I will review those pieces in that review

Packaging – ★★★★☆

Standard Marvel Legends Infinite Series packaging which is great.

Overall Rating – ★★★★☆

Overall, I’m totally stoked I have this figure. I love Captain Marvel so this figure is a must have for me. I honestly think everyone should get this figure. Everything about it is great, minus the couple minor gripes which are not much of an issue.

Do you have any of these figures? If so, do you have a review to share? Please share in the comments or link to your review.

Leave a Reply

