Toy Review: Marvel Legends | Vision


Whoops! I’m a day late, but better late than never right? Today’s review is the Marvel Legends Infinite Series Hulkbuster Series Vision. I was pretty excited when I saw these went on sale at Target. I was able to price match this guy at my Walmart who actually had them in stock. Let’s take a look and see if this figure is as awesome as he looks.

snapshot-607

Figures in the Series

Figure Details

  • Character: Vision
  • Manufacturer: Hasbro
  • Series: Hulkbuster
  • Dimensions: 6.25
  • Recommended: Ages 4+
  • MSRP: $19.95 Paid: $12.23
  • Part Number/SKU: 630509310920
  • Buy it on Amazon

Articulation – ★★★

Vision is built nearly entirely off the Bucky Cap mold, which I’ve noted before, I am definitely a fan of this mold. The articulation is really good and Vision gets to take advantage of all those positives. Let’s get right in and see.

Total POA’s = 32

  • Arms – There are 7 joints per arm.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge Joint which allows for a wide range of motion. There is very little getting in the way of the articulation of the shoulders.
    • Bicep: Peg Joint which is nicely molded to follow the natural bicep look.
    • Elbow: Double Pin/Hinge joints provide a good amount of bend beyond 90 degrees. It’d be nice to get a little more bend, but in the end, it’s not a huge issue.
    • Wrist: Peg Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge joint. Both operate very well and were nice and tight.
  • Legs – There are 7 joints in each leg/hip/ankle area.
    • Hips: T-Jointed Ball Joint provides great forward and backward motion. You’ll also find Vision can nearly do the splits, though the range of motion does stop before a full split is accomplished which I like should the joint ever become loose you won’t have a Vision who looks more like a gymnast in the middle of a floor exercise.
    • Thigh: Peg Joint with a standard cut joint. This is a well concealed joint and there are no major paint issues with the joint being utilized.
    • Knees: Double Pin/Hinge joints in the knees which provide awesome bend capabilities.
    • Shin: Peg Joint with a standard cut joint just below the knee. This is a functional joint, but many don’t feel a joint here is anatomically correct or necessary. I’d lean that way as well, at least, if you have the Thigh and/or ankle pivot which this figure has both.
    • Ankles: Each ankle has 2 joints. Pin/Hinge Joints that allow for excellent backward motion and decent forward motion. The ankle rocker is perfectly executed as well.
  • Body – There are two joints in the body/torso
    • .Torso – Pin/Hinge joint provides a really good ab crunch though the backward motion is a little hindered by the cape, but this isn’t a big deal.
    • Waist – Standard Peg Joint provides a good waist swivel. This is a cut joint and there is no hiding the joint when you twist the waist so know that it’ll look a little off when you do so.
  • Head: A single Ball Joint and a Pin/Hinge disc that provides great up and down, side to side, as well as a good amount of tilt.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★★★☆

I really like the sculpt of the Bucky Cap mold, thus this Vision figure is also a really good figure sculpt wise. Now I haven’t read a lot of the Marvel comics yet with Vision, but as far as the likeness, it seems to be pretty close, so I’m ok with it.

I will say, I’m not 100% on board with the sculpt of his left hand. It’s great in that it gives you some nice posing options of him using his powers, but the hand seems a bit too large for the scale of the figure. That may just be due to the paint, but it seems too big.

There’s one other issue I have and it seems my figure is a bit lop sided. He seems to lean to his left when you stand him straight up. Not sure if that’s a defect or not, but it’s a little odd.

Aside from that, I really like the way this figure turned out.

Paint – ★★

I really like the paint application Hasbro did on this figure. Not only do I really like the color choices, but I also think they executed the paint apps really well. The paint is well applied on my figure. There’s really nothing I can ask more of for this.

Accessories – ★★★

Vision comes with a thin yellow cape that pegs in on the back of the figure and also mounts just over the shoulders a little. The cape is made of a somewhat pliable plastic and has some nice sculpt detail, though there is no paint on it whatsoever. I know yellow can be hard to work with, but I feel a little shading might have made this cape really pop. I also wish the cape was a little less rigid. Otherwise this accessory is really cool looking.

Packaging – ★★★★☆

Standard Marvel Legends Infinite Series packaging which is great.

Overall Rating – ★★★★☆

Overall this is a really nice figure. There’s not a lot that is unique to the figure itself as I think even the cape is a repurposed mold, but still, Hasbro did a really nice job on it and I’m glad I have him in my collection. I definitely recommend getting this figure.

Do you have any of these figures? If so, do you have a review to share? Please share in the comments or link to your review.

Leave a Reply

