Toy Review: Marvel Legends | Marvel’s Hawkeye


Today’s review is the Marvel Legends Infinite Series All Father Series Marvel’s Hawkeye. I’ve held off buying this figure for a really long time. Hasbro produced a boat load of these guys and I’ve seen them warming the pegs at every one of my local retailers. I also waited because I’m really not a huge fan of this version of Hawkeye. I prefer the cinematic version more. Finally, I’ve held off because I didn’t want to pay retail price for this figure.

snapshot-879.jpg

Figures in the Series

Figure Details

  • Character: Hawkeye
  • Manufacturer: Hasbro
  • Series: Odin Series
  • Dimensions: 6.25
  • Recommended: Ages 4+
  • MSRP: $19.95 Paid: $8.69
  • Part Number/SKU: 630509273959
  • Buy it on Amazon

Articulation – ★★★

Basically, this figure reuses nearly every part of the Bucky Cap mold, whic is not a negative by any means. This was a solid, and natural choice, which provides some really good articulation.

Total POA’s = 32

  • Arms – There are 7 joints per arm.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge Joint provides a really wide range of motion. There are no major hindrances.
    • Bicep: Peg Joint which is nicely molded to follow the natural bicep look.
    • Elbow: Double Pin/Hinge joints allow the elbows to bend nearly in half. Very well done.
    • Wrist: Peg Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge joint. Both operate very well and were nice and tight.
  • Legs – There are 7 joints in each leg/hip/ankle area.
    • Hips: T-Jointed Ball Joint provides a great forward kick and decent backwards. The skirt piece slightly hinders the backwards kick, but not much. Good outward motion on the legs.
    • Thigh: Peg Joint with a standard cut joint. No major continuity sculpt or paint issue here.
    • Knees: Double Pin/Hinge joints in the knees allows for a really good bend in the knee.
    • Shin: Peg Joint with a standard cut joint at the top of the boot.
    • Ankles: Each ankle has 2 joints. Pin/Hinge Joints that allow for excellent backward motion though only decent forward motion. The ankle rocker functions as expected.
  • Body – There are 2 joints in the torso area.
    • Torso: Pin/Hinge joint allows for decent ab crunch and back arch, though this would be better if you take the removable chest piece off.
    • Waist: Standard Peg Joint allows full rotation, though is a bit loose on my figure.
  • Head: A single Ball Joint and a Pin/Hinge disc that provides great up and down, side to side, and a little tilt as well. This is perfect for those arrow shooting poses. On a side note, the neck joint on my figure is a little loose. Not bad enough to go return him for a different one, but, I anticipate if I do a lot of posing with him, I will regret not getting a different one.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★★★☆

I really like the sculpt choice they made with the Bucky Cap recycled parts. It really helps the articulation and looks fairly comic accurate (in my little bit of comic knowledge of Hawkeye). The left arm reused from the Winter Soldier figure is a bit puzzling to me as I didn’t know Hawkeye had a bionic arm as well. I guess I’ll need to read up a little more on that. Perhaps they just armored his left arm and not his right.

My biggest gripe with the sculpt work is more so in the materials they used for the removable chest/shoulder thing. It’s too hard and thus makes it a little hard to pose the figure without it causing issues. It looks really nice though and I prefer to pose him with it on so he doesn’t just look like a Bucky repaint. The scale work they did is really nicely sculpted.

Overall, there’s tons of nice detail work in the sculpt and no major interferences to the articulation. This was a solid effort by Hasbro, they just made too many of this figure. I know they had to make a lot since they are providing two BAF options but only one figure comes with the torso BAF piece. They just should have gone with two figures to distribute all the torso’s.

Paint – ★★★☆

The paint is pretty much average. They did just enough, and that’s ok. My issue is they didn’t do any real shading on the purple parts, which would have been really nice to see. A black wash on the left bionic/armored arm would have been great as well. There’s some darker tones coming through, but I can’t tell if that’s paint, or just the plastic. Either way, more paint on the costume would have been nice.

I really do like the color choice, however. I prefer this over the lighter blue of the comics. It’s getting closer to the movie version of Hawkeye, though somewhat paying tribute still to the original.

The best part of the paint app is the head, which is also part of a problem too. First, mine has slightly derpy eyes. The right eye pupil is a bit off, makes him look, well… derpy. Beyond that issue, I’m totally happy with the rest of the paint app on the head. The face paint looks great, as does the helmet.

Accessories – ★★★☆☆

Hawkeye comes with two accessories, and badly needed just one more. He gets a quiver full of arrows and a bow. What’s missing you ask? He needs a freaking arrow! Come on Hasbro! Where’s my flippin’ arrow I can use to pose with my brand new Hawkeye that I paid less than half you were hoping I’d pay? His left hand is posed and ready for an arrow to be knocked and ready to go, but no arrow.

Anyway, what we did get isn’t bad. The quiver is equipped with a peg for mounting onto the mounting hole on Hawkeye’s back. This looks decent enough on the figure. The paint on it is nearly non-existent. A little paint on the quiver would have gone a really long way on this figure. The arrows look nice enough, but again, more paint.

The bow was sculpted really nicely. Yes, a real string would have been preferred, but had they actually put some paint on the thing, I probably wouldn’t have even mentioned it. The entire thing is purple. I may actually use this accessory, as well as the quiver as my very first attempt at a custom paint job for an action figure. Right now, it just looks dumb.

Overall, I gave the accessories 3 stars because the sculpt is there, but the paint is not. Hopefully I can fix it.

Packaging – ★★★★☆

Standard Marvel Legends Infinite Series packaging which is great.

Overall Rating – ★★★★☆

Hawkeye just barely rounded his rating up to a 4 out of 5. He may be an underwhelming figure, but in all, it’s not a bad action figure. There are some issues of course, but it’s certainly better than the Marvel Select Hawkeye figure I reviewed a while back. Yeah, the paint is perhaps debatable compared to the Select figure, but by far the Hasbro articulation blows the Select Hawkeye out of the water. This isn’t a must have, but it’s not bad for the current price. Go get one, or several. Might make for some really nice custom fodder.

Do you have any of these figures? If so, do you have a review to share? Please share in the comments or link to your review.

Leave a Reply

