Toy Review: DC Collectibles |Arkham Origins Series 1 Batman


Today’s review is the DC Collectibles Arkham Origins Series I Batman. I was really excited when I saw this figure come up on sale on Amazon a little while ago. The Batman I had in the 6 inch scale just didn’t impress me articulation wise, or look wise either. I needed this figure to make up for that. Luckily, it meets my expectations.

snapshot-904.jpg

Figures in the Series

  • Batman
  • The Joker
  • Black Mask
  • Bane

Figure Details

  • Character: Batman
  • Manufacturer: DC Collectibles
  • Series: Arkham Origins Series I
  • Dimensions: 7
  • Recommended: Ages 4+
  • MSRP: $24.95 Paid: $13.95
  • Part Number/SKU: 761941314082

Articulation – ★★★

I’m not going to rave about the articulation. It’s not stellar, but it’s not bad. It’s middle of the road. I wanted to give it 3 stars, but it’s considerably better than my other Batman figure, that I needed to give it that consideration. It’s also a DC figure, which typically has been a disappointment in the articulation realm, and this figure doesn’t disappoint. Let’s take a look.

Total POA’s = 29

  • Arms – There are 6 joints per arm.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge Joint which provides a good amount of motion up. He’ll get his arms about the height of his shoulders. The joint itself along with the sculpt of the shoulder prohibits more motion. The cape does not hinder the motion at all. He can swivel his arms above his shoulders, so that is good.
    • Elbow: Single Pin/Hinge joint as well as a Peg Joint at the base of the top of the elbow. I would have preferred a bicep joint and two Pin/Hinge Joints in the elbow, but we can’t always get everything we want. The peg joint is a little weird, but functional. The single joint in the elbow provides just less than 90 degrees of bend. I wish there were more here.
    • Wrist: Peg Joint as well as a Pin/Hinge joint. Both operate very well though the forearm armor does prevent the wrist from moving somewhat out/up, but he’s not going to be doing that since he’s just got fists.
  • Legs – There are 6 joints in each leg/hip/ankle area.
    • Hips: T-Jointed Ball Joint provides ok forward kick motion and quite good backwards motion. Outward splits is decent, though the further out you go, the bigger the gap you see in the crotch. It’s not horrible, but it’s certainly not the ideal look.
    • Knees: Peg Joint at the top of the knee which replaces a thigh joint. It works, but I’d prefer the thigh joint. Double Pin/Hinge joints in the knees allows pretty much a full bend of the knee. This is a much needed feature and keeps this figure up in the rating.
    • Ankles: Each ankle has 3 joints. Pin/Hinge Joints that allow for excellent backward motion and decent forward motion.  A Ping/Hinge provides some additional motion that would otherwise not be possible, though this joint is a little loose and a little redundant as there is also an ankle rocker.
  • Body – There are 2 joints in the body area.
    • Torso: Pin/Hinge joint which is currently frozen in place on my figure. I haven’t had a chance to get some heat on it to see if I can loosen it. If it does work and provides even a single click for an ab crunch this will be so much better than most any DC Collectibles figure I’ve gotten thus far.
    • Waist: Peg Joint provides standard waist swivel which is very well hidden and very useful on the figure.
  • Head: A single Ball Joint that provides a good amount of side-to-side motion and good tilt. The figure has a hard time moving his head up more than a smidgen, though he can look down a little.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★★★★

I really, really like the sculpt of this figure. They did a wonderful job with the sculpt. Let’s start off with my favorite part which is the cape. There’s not a lot that’s all that special about the cape, but I really like the soft rubbery plastic they used. More so, I really like the way they attached it to the figure. There’s a minimal amount of the cape actually attached to the figure, which allows the shoulders to move freely underneath.

The rest of the figure is sculpted with so much nice detail, I’m not entirely sure where to start. There’s really cool looking details in the armor seams on the legs, and the chest armor really fits well. There are nooks and crannies all over with additional details. I could sit and stare at this thing for hours (well, probably not, but it’d be great if I could).

There are two things that are a little off. Depending on the angle you look at Batman’s head, it may appear a bit small compared to the rest of the body. The body is quite bulky, especially in the thighs and the shoulders. The head is probably the right proportion, but it can seem a bit small.

I’m not the biggest fan of the boots. They are detailed really well, but they look a bit like the old moon boots we used to wear back in the late 80’s and early 90’s. Perhaps it’s just his feet seem a bit small. That’s likely what I’m seeing.

Paint – ★★★★★

There isn’t a lot of paint variation on this figure, but what paint is there, is really well done. It looks really good. The grey does have a little different tone at different angles, that may be the light, but I think it’s the actual paint app doing it. They painted most of the seams I noted in the armor of the figure which really makes the figure stand out.

I’ve notice that my figure has some odd white dust like stuff, almost like rust in some of the joints. I’m not sure if that’s due to the paint rubbing or what, but it actually adds an interesting element to the look.

There is one major issue with the paint app that I know a lot of people do not like. The face paint is painted to resemble facial hair stubble, but it looks a little more like he got chocolate or something else smeared all over his face. From a small distance nobody will notice, but when you’re looking at it closely, your’e gonna think the same thing I am. What’s Batman been getting into? Ha ha.

Even with the weird paint app on the face, I still love the paint app on this figure and am not willing to remove any stars.

Accessories – ★★☆☆☆

This Batman figure comes with no accessories. Had I paid full price for the figure I might have given him zero stars, but in this instance, I don’t have super high expectations. A batarang would have been nice, except having only fists that would have been problematic. In that instance, I wish we had gotten an extra set of hands.

Packaging – ★★★

I can’t stand blister packaging, which is what this figure comes in. That said, it does look nice. It’s a unique design and visually the images are very nice. Beyond that, however, I just cannot get over the fact that I have to destroy the packaging just to get to my toy.

Overall Rating – ★★★★☆

This figure barely eked out a 4 star rating. The lack of accessories and the questionable packaging put the figure at a disadvantage. In the end, the packaging shouldn’t be a huge contributor to the overall rating, but alas, all my reviews include packaging. Anyway, I highly recommend this figure. There are a million Batman figures out there, and this one is certainly one you should get if you’re a fan of the more modern look.

Do you have any of these figures? If so, do you have a review to share? Please share in the comments or link to your review.

Leave a Reply

