Custom Action Figure: Red Hulk


I’ve completed my first adventure in custom action figures. That’s right, I’ve created my first custom action figure. Well, if I’m being honest, it’s mostly just a repainted Marvel Legends action figure, but I did do a custom sculpt of the hair. I’m not going to review the toy like I would normally do with the toys I buy, but I’m going to share this as more of an art piece that I want to show off to my friends who follow my blog. It’s hopefully the first of many custom action figures to go into my collection. I hope you enjoy.

Character: Red Hulk

Base Body: Target 3-Pack Exclusive Incredible Hulk (green)

First, I should explain why I chose to create my own Red Hulk, because there are several reasons. The biggest reason is I love the Red Hulk. I almost love this Marvel character more than the Green Hulk. The story line behind him is really good and I recommend you read the comics. Another big factor for why I chose this character is because the current Marvel Legends Red Hulk figure which is a Build-A-Figure is going for $50-$100 on Ebay right now. Yeah, not gonna spend that much on the figure. I also don’t really care for the way that figure looks. I could have gotten the Marvel Select Red Hulk which is still pretty inexpensive and looks great, and I may still get him, but the articulation on the Selects is usually pretty bad. Finally, I got two of those Target 3-Packs for really cheap, which means I wound up paying about $5 for the base figure, so how could I go wrong. Even if it turned out horribly, I’m out almost nothing.

Ok, here he is, in all his glory. I hope you enjoy. He’s going to look great on my shelf.

Here’s some work in progress pictures as well so you can see a little bit of what my process was to get to this point.

This was my first ever attempt at doing a custom action figure. I think it turned out really well. Are you an action figure customizer? If so, share your own pics in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

