Toy Review: Figma | Goro Inogashira #229


Today’s review is the Figma by Max Factory Good Smile Kodouku No Gourmet: Goro Inogashira (“Standard Helping” Version) Action Figure. I know nothing of the Manga that this character (Goro Inogashira) comes from or the TV show. I bought it because I wanted to start looking at other brands of action figures other than just Hasbro’s Marvel Legends line and I wanted a figure that looked really plain and generic like this figure is. I managed to nab him from Amazon for a pretty decent price too.

Goro_Inogashira_000010-001.jpg

Figure Details

  • Character: Goro Inogashira
  • Manufacturer: Figma by Max Factory
  • Series: 229
  • Dimensions: 6
  • Recommended: ??
  • MSRP: $49.99 Paid: $30.99
  • Part Number/SKU:??
  • Buy it on Amazon

Check out My Video Review

Articulation – ★★★★★

This is my first attempt at analyzing and reviewing the Figma articulation, so I’m not entirely sure how to count their points of articulation. Most of the joints are a simple ball hinge that is pegged in on the top and bottom. Technically, those peg joints are articulated. Whether they are useful, that’s another matter. For this review and count, I’m going to count them. So bear with me.

As far as an overall impression of the articulation, it’s superb. In my opinion, compared to the Marvel Legends and DC Collectibles figures, this one is eons better.

Total POA’s = 34

  • Arms – There are 8 joints per arm.
    • Shoulders: Ball Joint as well as a Ball Hinge in the shoulder allow the arm to raise out and up really high. The ball joint allows you to drop the arm down a bit to get more motion. The shoulder also has full rotation capability.
    • Bicep: Peg Joint right at the base of the shoulder. It works really well.
    • Elbow: Peg joint at the top of the elbow that is connected to the ball hinge in the elbow. This provides nearly a full bend in the elbow. There is a peg at the bottom portion of the elbow, but the sculpt prevents this joint from moving, but this doesn’t affect the needed articulation.
    • Wrist: The wrist has a tiny Ball Hinge joint that has pegs on both ends. This provides a lot of good articulation in the wrist which is awesome. There is almost too many points here as it makes it tough to keep the joint in position that doesn’t move the hand into an unnatural position, but I really like it now that I’m used to it.
  • Legs – There are  joints in each leg/hip/ankle area.
    • Hips: There’s a Ball Joint that connects the T-Jointed Ball Joint to the hips. This provides an immense amount of motion for the hips and legs. Forward kick is amazing as well is the backward kick. I’ve not see many figures that have anything better. You can also get nearly a full split in the legs.
    • Thigh: Peg Joint at the very top of the thigh. This joint rotates very well and is very helpful to keep the leg anatomically correct when you kick the legs forward backward and out.
    • Knees: Single Ball Hinge that provides almost a full bend in the leg.
    • Ankles: Each ankle has a Peg Joint at the top of a Ball Hinge as well as a Peg at the bottom. The forward and backward motion are a little hindered here, but the figure is so easy to pose that isn’t nearly as big a deal. The ankle rocker is very well done.
  • Body – There is a Ball joint in the body waist that provides a decent ab crunch and pretty good back arch.
  • Head: There is a Ball Joint at the base of the head as well as a Ball Hinge just below that and then a Peg Joint. The neck also has what appears to be a Ball Joint, possibly a double ball, but I can’t verify that so I’m going with the single. The articulation capability in the head and neck are really good. You do need to pull the peg out just a little to get the head looking up as far as you’d like, but it works and it doesn’t even cause the look to be off.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mold – ★★★★★

 

Top to bottom, this figure is sculpted really well. There’s a ton of detail, from the wrinkles in the pants to the soft tuft of hair. Figma really did a superb job sculpting this figure. There’s a really good mixture of soft rubbery plastics in the suit coat, tie, hips and hair that really allow this figure to be posed in some fairly natural looking ways.

I can’t say enough good things about the sculpt. I do have one thing to complain about though. The feet seem a bit small. Normally, when the feet are too small, the figure is really hard to stand up on its own. Not the case for this figure. Even with the smaller feet, he’s really easy to pose.

After measuring the figure, he’s right around 6″ tall, which scales really well with my Marvel Legends figures. He is a little smaller, but he’s also not a superhero, so I think it fits in really well.

Paint – ★★★★★

There isn’t a lot of paint on the figure, but where there is paint, it’s done really well, and really clean. You shouldn’t expect any shading because this figure is supposed to look a bit cartoonish. The paint work is very clean though. The lines on the tie are spot on, as are the facial features.

Some of the accessories like the rice bowl could have done well to have a little extra paint shading so the rice doesn’t blend so much into the bowl, but that’s just a really minor note. Overall, again, I have no complaints.

Accessories – ★★★★★

The only way to review the accessories appropriately is to list them first so you can see the massive number you get with this figure (Hasbro, take notes)

  • 3x face sculpts
  • Left forearm & hand for hand in pocket poses
  • Additional suit coat for hand in pocket poses
  • Rice Bowl with removable rice
  • Figma display stand
  • Figma accessories zip lock baggie
  • Additional display stand peg
  • 1x extra wrist joint replacement
  • 11x total hands (one with cigarette, one with chop sticks)
  • Pegged extra hand holder (holds 8 hands)

This really is just an absurd amount of accessories, especially considering what we typically get from other toy makers like Hasbro and Mattel. Yes, they aren’t in the same price range, but still, some of their figures come with nothing.

Enough about other manufacturers, let’s chat briefly about these accessories. We could have gotten a bunch that were crap and then it wouldn’t do us any good, but ever single accessory is well made and very functional. They add to the flexibility of this figure so much that I just can’t stop posing him and swapping parts to see what he’s going to look like with this combination of hands, etc.

If I could give this figure 6 stars I would (there’s really nothing stopping me, I created the rating system)

Packaging – ★★★★☆

The packaging is nice. Nothing too amazing. There’s nice images of the figure throughout that provides some good ideas for the articulation capabilities. Most of the text is in Japanese so I have no idea what it’s saying, but that’s ok by me. I like that we are able to see into the package, so those of you who are MIB collectors should like this box. It has a relatively small footprint, but still packaged well enough that the figure should be well preserved inside.

Overall Rating – ★★★☆☆

I love this figure. It’s quickly become one of my absolute favorite figures in my collection and I wish I would have bought it a long time ago. It’s also making me rethink my dedication to buying so many Hasbro figures. They really are a sub-par toy compared to this step up in the toy market. I’d say it’s on par with the Mafex Joker I picked up a while ago that I still need to review. It may not make sense to buy figures you know nothing about, but this one is so inexpensive and so generic that I think it’s still a must have. I may even go find out about the Manga just so I have more to talk about with my friends.

Do you have any of these figures? If so, do you have a review to share? Please share in the comments or link to your review.

Leave a Reply

